Skip to content
September 13, 2017 / Jett

The Super Nintendo Essays: The Original Console War


The Super Nintendo Essays is a series of posts detailing my history with and passion for the SNES. It had a profound effect on my life as a gamer, and I wanted to share some of my most memorable stories about it with you!


In a world with no internet message boards or YouTube comments to defend your side, the battle between the Super Nintendo and the Sega Genesis was – and may forever be – the fiercest console war of them all. Unlike modern times where the differences between consoles are minimal at best, these were two wildly different platforms in virtually every way, from console architecture, to controller design, to marketing. Heck, even third party games sharing the same name were oftentimes completely different builds between the two.

I was there for pretty much all of it. And in hindsight, console wars were always dumb.

During the early days of the Sega Genesis, it was the cool kid in town. The fact that it had more horsepower than the NES, combined with the edgy marketing push with Sonic the Hedgehog at the forefront, and this console was making serious inroads with gamers. Though I was still super young between the launches of the Sega Genesis and the Super Nintendo, I remember not being wooed by the new hotness.

Sure, I could acknowledge that the Genesis had better looking graphics than the NES. I also happen to enjoy playing those early Sonic games. However, even at that time, I guess I had already developed a sense of loyalty to Nintendo. They made awesome games and I knew those awesome games wouldn’t appear anywhere else. Having built a rapport around Nintendo products, I figured I would stick with them.

The concept of this being some sort of war didn’t come naturally to me. My first console was a hand-me-down Atari 2600 and there were no schoolyard arguments over that. Where it ultimately bubbled to the surface was when classmates began to crown Sega as the new king and that Nintendo was washed up. Around that time, a number of my cousins also jumped on the Sega bandwagon, wondering why I wouldn’t join them in the party.

This only strengthened my resolve. Even though I owned neither next-gen console, I dug my feet into the dirt and proclaimed that I would be on team Nintendo.

To this day, I’m still on team Nintendo. I generally love what they do, and I buy all of their products that I enjoy. That said, artificially limiting myself to owning only Nintendo platforms was stupid in hindsight. There were a number of Sega Genesis games I enjoyed. Furthermore, even though I was just a kid at the time, it never occurred to me that I could have used the money I would spend on a few games and instead buy a Sega Genesis.

Nowadays, I’m all about being platform agnostic. There are awesome games on every platform, and I’d rather have access to them all instead of letting them pass by for “reasons”. But back then, I didn’t know any better. Besides, I ended up backing the winner in the end.

😉


Check out previous posts in the Super NES Essays series!

Playing With Super Power

Happy Birthday


Buy The Super NES Classic Now From Amazon.com

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

