Skip to content
September 10, 2017 / Jett

The Super Nintendo Essays: Happy Birthday


The Super Nintendo Essays is a series of posts detailing my history with and passion for the SNES. It had a profound effect on my life as a gamer, and I wanted to share some of my most memorable stories about it with you!


I remember the day when my Super NES hype hit a crescendo. For months, I pestered my parents about my desire to receive an SNES for my birthday. In response, they would usually troll me by saying they were going to get me a TurboGrafx-16 instead. As time went on, the jokes got a bit more intense, and one day, they broke me.

I don’t even recall exactly what they said, but I remember the response. Believing that I was in fact getting a TurboGrafx-16, tears were shed. At some point, my excitement ran so high, that the thought of receiving something else for my birthday broke me.

In retrospect, it’s kind of silly and childish to see how much weight I put on that one moment being the moment. If anything, I probably could have bought one myself with the impending birthday money windfall. Maybe it was because I knew they were my only realistic hope of giving me one as a gift?

Well, my birthday rolls around, and you could cut the tension with a knife. Holding the box, I still didn’t know if it was an SNES or a TurboGrafx-16. Lo and behold, it’s an SNES bundle, along with a second controller, Super Mario World, and Star Fox! This was better than I could have imagined!

Thank you mom and dad. You made your son’s dreams come true and that thing would kick my journey into the world of gaming into high gear.


Check out previous posts in the Super NES Essays series!

Playing With Super Power


Buy The Super NES Classic Now From Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

