Skip to content
May 11, 2017 / Jett

Early Impressions of Mass Effect: Andromeda


When Mass Effect: Andromeda was released, it came into the world with a flurry of criticism. From knocks on it being a less compelling game to its predecessors to glaring technical issues that shatter the uncanny valley, I heavily thought about trading in my launch copy to avoid disappointment. Eventually, I decided to give it a shot and…I’ve enjoyed what I played quite a bit.

I first played the game just days before the first major patch. Finishing the intro mission, I did notice that faces looked weird, but other than that, I had fun. Since then, I’ve played through much more of the game and my experience has been mostly positive.

It took me a bit to come to grips with how the game worked, as its been years since I’ve played a Mass Effect game. But once I got comfortable with what was going on, I was all in, exploring new planets, attempting to complete every mission that came my way while progressing a pretty cool story about settling into a new galaxy.

Combat is as good as its ever been. Besides your usual mix of guns and special powers, you now get access to a rocket-powered ground and air dash. Having the extra mobility adds a new dynamic to the combat that feels exciting to use.

My favourite aspect of the series is the characters. None of our favourites from the original are here for logical story reasons. Instead, we get a whole new cast, though it doesn’t feel as fresh as before. Save for one new addition, it feels like you’re getting similar character archetypes with different names on them. Except that, at least at first, they don’t seem to be as charming as the originals. That said, I’m starting to warm up to the crew as I get to know them.

So far, I’m glad that I fought the urge to give into the backlash. Really enjoying what I’ve played so far of Mass Effect: Andromeda. While it does have its problems, if it’s able to maintain this pace, I think this should be a worthwhile experience in the long run.

Buy Mass Effect: Andromeda Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

