Skip to content
April 20, 2017 / Jett

Coming Soon: Puyo Puyo Tetris on the Nintendo Switch


In just a few days – April 25th to be exact, Puyo Puyo Tetris will hit store shelves for the Nintendo Switch and PlayStation 4. Having played the Japanese PlayStation 4 version for a few months now, I can tell you that it’s a good game. Personally, I thought that the Switch version would be a home run, as the portable nature of the platform made it seem like a perfect fit. Right now, I’m not so sure I’m ready to jump in.

For one, it’s cheaper on the PlayStation 4. For some reason, it’s $29.99 US on the PlayStation 4 and $39.99 US on the Switch. The price gap is even bigger in Canada, as it’s $39.99 for the PS4 version and $54.99 for the Switch. Really hope this isn’t a trend, cause it’s certainly a deterrent for buying third party Switch software. In theory, one could make a case for the added benefit of the system being a home and portable console, but I don’t know if consumers should pay an extra $10 for that privilege.

Having played the demo also gave me pause, and it wasn’t necessarily the game’s fault. What bothered me about it was the controller situation. The lack of a true d-pad makes this game noticeably harder for me to play, as the analog stick doesn’t give you the digital precision required for fast movements within this particular game. Using a Joy-Con Grip, you can sort of use the buttons below the left joystick as a substitute, but you only get analog controls when you split the Joy-Con controllers apart.

This issue was negated by my Pro Controller, which worked great. However, am I then obligated to pack it with me when I want to play Puyo Puyo Tetris on the go? If I want to play with friends, do I then have an obligation to either buy more Pro Controllers to negate the disadvantage that players using Joy-Cons would have? There’s no easy answer to these questions unfortunately.

Finally, I already have this game. I beat the main campaign on the Japanese PlayStation 4 version and don’t necessarily need to play it again. Having English menus is nice, as well as possibly better access to North American matchmaking, but am I ready to pay extra for an experience I’ve already partaken in?

All things considered, Puyo Puyo Tetris is likely still going to be a good game when it comes out on all platforms. However, due to my personal caveats, I’m not sure yet if I’m going to take the plunge.

Buy Puyo Puyo Tetris Now From Amazon.com

Buy

 

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

