Skip to content
November 29, 2016 / Jett

Building My Perfect SNES Classic: Part 1


Shortly after my hype subsided from the announcement of the NES Classic, my immediate thought was, “What if Nintendo makes an SNES Classic?!” That system has a special spot in my heart for being a critical part of my gaming life as a 90s kid. It also doesn’t hurt that the games on this console are some of the greatest of all-time.

In this 10-part series, I’ll highlight three games that I would like to see in a hypothetical SNES Classic. Let’s begin!


Super Mario World

What better place to start than with the best Super Mario game? Yeah, I said it. Released in 1991, Super Mario World to this day is Mario at his best. Its brilliance captivated me as a kid and I never get tired of trekking through this game. Regardless of whether you think it’s the best Super Mario game, its place on everyone’s personal SNES Classic isn’t up for debate.


F-Zero

One of the first games to use Nintendo’s Mode 7 technology, F-Zero was one of the fastest and fun racing games of its time. I personally have a very soft spot in my heart for its Nintendo 64 sequel, though the original is easily worthy of inclusion here.


NHL 94

Despite being a sports fan born and raised in Canada, I don’t really care for the sport of hockey. NHL 94 on the Super Nintendo is the exception. This game finds the perfect balance of simulation and arcade action that I always get a kick out of. The Mighty Ducks might suck in this game, but they’re my go-to squad every time I play.


In summary, the games on this list so far are:

Super Mario World
F-Zero
NHL 94

Come back soon for part 2!

Buy the NES Classic Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

