Skip to content
November 11, 2016 / Jett

Quick Thoughts on the 30 Games Packed with the NES Classic


While we anxiously await for the release of the Nintendo Switch, we get a blast from the past this holiday season with the NES Classic. I would have bought one in a heartbeat, but it’s on my Christmas wish list. Hoping Santa comes through on this one!

To celebrate, I share some quick thoughts on each of the 30 games in the North American/PAL package. Click through for my thoughts!

Balloon Fight The game’s main mode is largely just a rip-off of Joust. However, it’s endless mode is still good and a precursor for the endless runner genre of games. I played this one a lot as a kid and would probably enjoy it for a few minutes now.
Bubble Bobble Never really played this one. Will have to try it out on the NES Classic to help form an opinion on it.
Castlevania I’ve played this game only a handful of times, and I never got past the first level. It’s one of my biggest gaming shames. Maybe I can give it an honest try with the NES Classic!
Castlevania II: Simon’s Quest Never played it. Guess now’s a good time to start. I hear that I should have a strategy guide handy when I play it.
Donkey Kong
It’s an all-time classic and one that has seen a bit of a resurgence thanks to The King of Kong documentary. However, the NES version isn’t the one you want, as it’s missing a level from the arcade original.
Donkey Kong Jr.
Didn’t reach the heights of the original, but I actually like this one. I’m okay with its inclusion.
Double Dragon II: The Revenge
This classic beat-em-up probably hasn’t aged well. However, it’s my favourite in the series, and it was always fun punching people off of that helicopter.
Dr. Mario
Stellar puzzle game with timeless gameplay. I expect this one to be one of the most played on the box.
Excitebike
Loved it as a kid. In hindsight, I don’t think this game was ever that good, though its track creator was certainly revolutionary. Excitebike 64 is criminally underrated.
Final Fantasy
The start of the ultimate JRPG series. Never played it. Guess I’ll give it a shot, but I’m generally not a fan of the genre.
Galaga
One of my dad’s favourite games. Never got into it like he did, but the ship-stealing mechanic was novel for its time. Will have to play this with him when I ultimately get an NES Classic of my own.
Ghosts ‘n Goblins
Loved the concept of it as a kid. However, this game is insanely hard. Never got very far in it and I doubt that will change now.
Gradius
One of the best side-scrolling space shooters on the NES. As good as it is, I wish they had switched this out with the superior Life Force.
Ice Climber
This game gets hated on a lot, but I enjoy it. Have enjoyed it since I was a kid and I’ll probably have a bit more fun with it now.
Kid Icarus
This was always a weird game that hasn’t aged well. Play Kid Icarus: Uprising instead, cause it’s fantastic.
Kirby’s Adventure
The first Kirby game I ever played was Epic Yarn on the Wii. Going to have to try out the game that started it all!
The Legend of Zelda
Groundbreaking title that has kind of aged a bit. Aspects of this game are probably a bit too obtuse for most. Wouldn’t recommend this now as your first Zelda game, but it’s certainly worth playing.
Mario Bros.
Before becoming “super”, Mario and Luigi starred in a mediocre single-screened platformer. Played a lot of this one as a kid and it was never that good.
Mega Man 2
The pinnacle of the series and one of my all-time favourites. Will certainly play through this again on the NES classic!
Metroid
Samus’ debut outing was a revolutionary affair. As with The Legend of Zelda, it’s age shows, as parts of the game are more obtuse than they would be if this game were made today. However, you will still have a great time with this one.
Ninja Gaiden
Have always loved the idea of playing as a ninja. Unfortunately, this game is brutally hard. Never got past the third level.
Pac-Man
I get why it’s included in this package due to its big name. However, it’s a dinosaur compared to the others in this compilation and it’s good for a few cheap thrills at best.
Punch-Out!! Featuring Mr. Dream
No Tyson? No problem! One of my favourite NES games and one that is a must-play.
StarTropics
Never played it.
Super C
Super C is a fine game, but its inclusion here over the original Contra is inexcusable.
Super Mario Bros.
What more can be said about one of the best and most important video games of all-time? It’s still awesome and I still haven’t beaten it.
Super Mario Bros. 2
We get it. It’s a re-theme of Doki Doki Panic. But it’s also awesome. Princess Peach is the best.
Super Mario Bros. 3
The best Super Mario game of all-time? The case for this being it is very strong. Love the heck out of this one and will gladly enjoy it again!
Tecmo Bowl
Never played it. Guess it wouldn’t hurt to try it now.
Zelda II: The Adventure of Link
The best Super Mario game of all-time? The case for this being it is very strong. Love the heck out of this one and will gladly enjoy it again!

Did I hit it on the nose? Or am I out of my mind? Let me know in the comments!

Buy the NES Classic Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

