Skip to content
September 22, 2016 / Jett

The Last Few Pokemon Left to Catch in My Pokemon Go Pokedex


Shortly after beginning my Pokemon Go journey, I declared to myself that I wanted to catch ’em all, within reason. I wanted to catch all of the Gen 1 North American launch pokemon. Just over two months after the game’s release, I’m actually pretty close. Here’s what’s left, my plan for attacking the rest of them, and what I’ve learned as I went through this process.

Pokemon Go Pokedex

As of writing, I have 131 out of a possible 142 in North America. The pokemon that still elude me are:

  • Dodrio*
  • Omastar*
  • Machamp*
  • Golem
  • Charmeleon
  • Muk
  • Kabutops
  • Charizard
  • Alakazam
  • Dragonite
  • Tangela

The three with the * I technically don’t have, but I do have the candy for them. If I really wanted to, I could evolve my Doduo, Omastar and Machamp to shorten the list. However, I would prefer to evolve higher CP and IV versions of each, so I’ll wait till I catch pr hatch prime specimens first. In reality, I’m only short by eight.

With the new buddy system, Golem, Charmeleon, Muk, Kabutops, Charizard, Alakazam and Dragonite are just a matter of grinding. As of writing, I need to walk just over 700km required to earn the required candy. Obviously, I’m going to try my best to catch these pokemon instead, as that’s quite a ways to walk, but some of these are much harder to track down than others.

The one pokemon that freaks me out is Tangela. Even as someone who actively uses Pokevision-style mapping tools, I have yet to see a Tangela anywhere in my province. Here’s to hoping that it comes out of hiding or that I hit the egg lottery, or else my dreams of completing the North American Pokedex will continue to stay on hold.

Is it really worth it to track every single one down? If it’s important to you, sure. If not, that’s fine. Pokemon Go is open-ended enough that there are many different ways of getting enjoyment out of it besides collecting them all. Some may want to focus on building the best team for attacking gyms. Others may want to hit the level cap. My mother-in-law, who is actually really into the game, plays it with the purpose of only catching the cute ones. Whatever you enjoy doing with the game that doesn’t ruin it for others, by all means go for it.

But if you do want to catch ’em all, it’s a tough road. Even with third-party maps, it’s very difficult. Without them, the challenge is even more daunting. My one piece of advice to anyone trying to catch them all without resorting to is to break out of your daily routine and explore. If you walk the same paths every day at the same times, you’ll likely run into the same stuff as well. By venturing out into the world, even if that means taking the next street over, you increase the chances of coming across something very cool.

If you’re partaking in the Pokedex grind, how are things going for you?

Buy Pokemon Go Plus Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

