Skip to content
July 14, 2016 / Jett

Street Fighter V: Devour Hour


When it comes to Street Fighter games, I’m no stranger to exploring the character select screen. While Rashid continues to be my main character in Street Fighter V, I’ve been spending a lot of time lately with Necalli. This ancient warrior who has the power to turn Super Saiyan immediately caught my attention with his animalistic fighting style. He’s not just cool looks though, as I’ve discovered that he’s a capable combatant that can shred his opposition to bits.

Back when he was first revealed, it was his Mask of Tlalli move that made me want to play him. Grabbing his opponents by the face, he leaps into the air and slam dunks them into the ground. As savage as it looks, it’s not actually effective enough to build an offensive game plan around due to its slow start-up speed, long recovery and generally weak damage output. However, it serves as a great tool for breaking an opponent’s guard when they’re turtling.

Once you land a grab or two, his bread-and-butter pressure game is even easier to initiate. Yes, his normal attacks generally have a really short range, but they easily string together in ways that create devious frame traps. If you catch someone with a counter hit, you can usually complete a high-damage combo. If they successfully block the sequence, you can easily reset to a new sequence or simply grab them out of their blocking state.

In matches where his short reach might be a problem, he can compensate with his great mobility. Possessing a great dash and quick walk speed, it’s not that hard for Necalli to dash in for a quick grab or shimmy out to bait a whiffed attack. Because of this, I find that I can spend a lot less time jumping around like an idiot, which is a bad habit of mine when I use Rashid.

My single favourite aspect of the Necalli experience is his V-Trigger. Transforming into a Super Saiyan version of himself, he becomes one of the most powerful characters in the game. In this mode, his dash speed and distance is greatly increased, he gains more combos from his normal moves and his damage output is increased. When powered up, I find that his medium punches become extremely deadly thanks to their increased speed, recovery and distance. The only downside is that it costs three bars to power up, meaning that you might not get access to it until it’s too late.

At this point, I don’t think I’m going to drop my main character for this beastly combatant. However, he’s going to stay in my regular rotation as a pocket character. He’s a ton of fun to play and so far I’m winning with him at a fairly decent clip. As long as my Necalli skills continue to develop, devour hour is far from over!


Buy Street Fighter V Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. captainxena / Jul 15 2016 5:30 PM

    Hey! I’ve read some of your posts and I really liked this Street Fighter one. I think it would go really well with what we do on our site, Nowloading.co. Posts exactly like this is exactly what we’re looking for. Would cross posting to our site be something you’d be interested in?

    If you’re interested, email me at dana@moviepilot.com I would love to get you started!

    Cheers,

    Dana

Leave a Reply

