Skip to content
June 23, 2016 / Jett

So I Bought a Gaming Monitor


Toshiba TVAfter my PlayStation TV died within months of buying it, I replaced it with a standard Toshiba set. It was basically the smaller version of the TV we use in our living room. For the most part, the TV worked as expected, save for one very specific quirk: its input lag relative to the input lag on monitors used in fighting game tournaments.

Years ago, Asus-brand gaming monitors became the standard for fighting games due to minimal amount of input lag they add between your button presses and when those presses are reflected on the screen. This is great for fighting game players, as it helped keep the fighting game experience as responsive and accurate as possible.

My problem was that I wasn’t playing at home with an Asus gaming monitor. The input lag between the two is different, meaning that I would have to adjust to the timing between the two screens. While the average gamer wouldn’t be able to tell the difference while playing something like Uncharted 4,  that timing difference can completely change the complexion of a Street Fighter match. For example, if you drop a combo, that mistake can be the difference between winning a world championship and being eliminated from a tournament.

Street Fighter V Warm-UpsThe lag isn’t insurmountable. At most tournaments, I can adjust during warm-ups beforehand. However, at the most recent Cineplex Canadian Championships, the allotted time for practice was far shorter than I would have hoped for. As such, I was forced for get a feel for the screens as I was competing in the tournament, which is far from ideal.

While I wouldn’t say that I lost the tournament due to display lag, it has been an ongoing issue for me ever since I started playing in tournaments. Up until this point, I felt like it was something I could just deal with, as I wasn’t really making any noise anyway. However, after coming off of a 1st place finish at the Kingston regional finals and finishing 17th at the national championships, this seems like a good time to finally take my setup seriously.

Just before taking off for the wedding and honeymoon, I picked up an Asus VP247 gaming monitor. It was $70 off at Best Buy here in Canada that week. I’m not savvy enough in the monitor department to provide a detailed review, I’ll gladly share a few notes about my experiences with it so far.

Asus VP247As a means of having the tournament experience at home, the Asus VP247 gaming monitor delivers. I noticed right away that the mistakes I would make on a tournament monitor would creep in while playing on the VP247 at home. This is great, as it means that I’ll have time to adjust to a tournament setup from the comfort of home. The picture is certainly sharper than it was on my old set, which is also a plus. On the flip side, adjusting the volume is a real pain, as it doesn’t come with a remote and the menus for controlling that feature are clunky at beast. Also, the audio quality from the speakers is abysmal. Because of this, I’m in the market for a gaming headset.

For most gamers, I would not recommend jumping off this bridge with me to get gaming monitors of your own. Unless you’re an active tournament player that requires you to be pitch perfect at home and in tournament, this is a luxury purchase that you don’t need to splurge on. As for me, this will hopefully keep me playing more consistently, and hopefully better in tournaments going forward!

Buy the Asus VP247 Monitor Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

