Skip to content
February 28, 2016 / Jett

Mortal Kombat X and My Fighting Game Superiority Complex


Prior to the release of Street Fighter V, I’m taking a sabbatical from Ultra Street Fighter IV to play Mortal Kombat X. It was a Christmas present from Steff that I cracked into as soon as the holiday madness cooled off. So far, I’m loving it. Full review to come, but kudos once again to NetherRealm Studios for knocking another one out of the park.

My biggest hurdle with the game so far has nothing to do with the game itself. Rather, it’s an internal problem that has manifested itself through my success in Street Fighter IV and other fighting games. Right now, I’m trying to overcome my fighting game superiority complex.

I will be the first to tell you that I’m not the greatest fighting game player. However, with years of practice in multiple titles, I start at a better position than most. Without knowing the particulars of any given fighting game, my general sense can take me past the starting point while I ramp up.

That said, Mortal Kombat has a lot of particulars, especially for someone with my background. While I played a ton of Injustice: Gods Among Us, my time with Mortal Kombat 9 was relatively limited. I get the gist of NetherRealm’s combo systems and interactive objects from their previous game, but the characters in the game and their move sets are completely alien to me. Can’t forget about the block button either, which will always be an alien concept for me to grasp.

As such, it can be frustrating to play online at times. I know enough about fighting games to be able to spot sub-par opponents, but I don’t have the knowledge or execution to beat them on a consistent basis, if at all. There have been times when an opponent has turned me into chopped into and it sucks.

But as a fighting game enthusiast, this shouldn’t be news. Fighting games have one of the hardest learning curves of any genre. Over time, I’ve been able to bridge the skill gap with increasing speed by knowing how to train smart. That, and by being able to keep my pride in check. I suck at Mortal Kombat X today. But by accepting that now and putting in the work to get better, this may not be the case forever.

Buy Mortal Kombat X Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

