Skip to content
February 2, 2016 / Jett

Dreams of XCOM 2 Appearing on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One


XCOM: Enemy Unknown was one of my favourite games last generation. It was an excellent (and sometimes brutally difficult) turn-based strategy game that really put your skills to the test. I loved it so much that I beat it multiple times on console and then played through it a third time on iOS. While I am glad that XCOM 2 is set to be released in just a few days, I’m hugely disappointed in Firaxis and 2K’s decision to go PC-only.

I understand that they have their reasons. In interviews, they’ve said that their vision for the game was only possible on the PC. There’s also the financial factor, as I’ve read and heard that console sales paled in comparison. As a business, those are fair reasons for going the route they did.

For me, this is a huge blow. The last PC games I played was Street Fighter X Mega Man in 2012, then Descent in the late 90s. I hate mouse and keyboard as a control interface. I don’t like having to upgrade my hardware, which is a much faster ccle on PC. Worst of all, I can’t stand having to debug my own games if they don’t run properly out of the box. Say what you will about PC games looking better than their console cohorts, but I’ll trade performance for reliability any day of the week.

This isn’t meant to be a PC-bashing post, as I know a ton of gamers love it. I also know that a number of advancements have been made on the platform since I gave up on it in the 90s. However, it’s simply not for me. Which is a bummer, because I really would love to play XCOM 2, just not enough to overcome my aversion to gaming on PC. Fingers crossed that maybe someday it’ll appear on consoles or mobile.

Buy XCOM 2 Now From Amazon.com

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. p2d2 / Feb 2 2016 8:02 AM

    Considering the rave reviews its currently getting, I’d be certain it will eventually be released on consoles, as it will sell well on PC If they’re smart (which 2K is), it’ll be on console shelves within the year, maybe late summer or early 2017.

Leave a Reply

