Skip to content
September 3, 2015 / Jett

I’m Going to Fan Expo 2015!


It’s the most wonderful time of the year for Toronto fans of all things nerdy, as Fan Expo Canada returns! If memory serves me correctly, this will be my 6th time going to the show. Here’s what I’m excited for this year!

Celebrity Guests

This year’s crop of guests is great. Some notables include Gillian Anderson of X-Files fame, Norman Reedus from The Walking Dead and Jason Momoa from Game of Thrones. There will be no shortage of panels to attend or photo opportunities I’ll be chasing. Two guests that I’m most pumped for are Mike Tyson and Tara Strong. Iron Mike needs no introduction and is one of my sports idols. Hoping to get a picture with him before the weekend is through. As for Tara Strong, she voices Raven in Teen Titans Go, who happens to be my favourite character on one of my favourite shows.

Comic Guests

Last year, I got to meet Brian Azzarello, who signed my copy of Wonder Woman #1. This year, there are a few more writers and artists I would like to meet and get stuff signed from. John Cassaday is the artist on the excellent new Star Wars series, so I’m hoping he can sign my #1. Charles Soule is the writer behind Death of Wolverine and the most recent run of She-Hulk, so I hope I can get thsoe signed too. The big one for me this year is Stuart Immomen, whose art on the first few issues of All-New X-Men played a big role in hooking me into comics in the first place.

Gaming Guests

Gaming guests haven’t normally been a part of my itinerary, but those past Fan Expo shows didn’t have the likes of Nolan North or Troy Baker, either. The voices behind Nathan Drake in Uncharted and Joel in The Last of Us are a big deal to me, and I’m hoping to at least sit in on a panel with them. Best case scenario, I get the opportunity to meet them and have a few of my games signed.

Shopping

I always spend way more money than I should at Fan Expo. Part of me hopes that I don’t blow the bank, as there are no shortage of mandatory financial obligations that need to be met. Still, if the price is right on a video game, board game, comic book, t-shirt, or other nerdy trinket, I’ll be hard-pressed to let it pass by.

Video Games

The final vendor list isn’t out yet, though appearances by Microsoft, Sony and Ubisoft are a given. There will be a stage at Ubisoft to demo the latest Just Dance game. EB Games has announced that they’ll have demos for Super Mario Maker, which I’m excited to try. This may be wishful thinking, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Sony will demo Street Fighter V, since it is an upcoming Sony exclusive. With the beta having been a total disaster for me, this could be my first time playing it!

Jett Fan Expo TournamentBeing Part of the Cool Kids

Probably the most endearing part of a show like this is being surrounded by fans of all sorts. There’s such a positive vibe that comes from everyone that it’s hard to not get absorbed by it. Even if everyone is into different things, the overall feeling in the convention centre is electric.

I’ll be there for all four days of the show. If you’re going, give me a shout! Will post my thoughts on the event when I come back!

Buy Street Fighter V Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

