Skip to content
June 21, 2015 / Jett

My E3 Pre-order Haul!


Amazon Canada E3For Canadian gamers, E3 season is the most wonderful time of the year. Besides getting all of the news on upcoming games, Canadian retailers often put on great deals for pre-ordering games that are featured at the event. This year, Amazon stole the show with a whopping 30% off when you pre-order three or more games. Needless to say, my shopping cart ended with way more than that. Here’s what I got!


Street Fighter V

Was there any doubt? This follow up to my all-time favourite game would get a purchase off the strength of its name alone. Thankfully, this appears to have far more than that going for it. A major graphical overhaul makes the visuals pop, while a plethora of gameplay changes make this one very unique from any Street Fighter before it. Besides getting 30% off, I should get access to the beta next month as well, making this offer doubly sweet.

 

 

Buy Street Fighter V Now From Amazon.com

 

 


Mass Effect: Andromeda

Admittedly, not much was revealed about the latest installment of BioWare’s space opera. We do know that we’ll be playing as a new character in a new galaxy. We also know that the Mako is back, though I admittedly didn’t miss driving that disaster. Still, off the strength of the original trilogy, I’m immensely excited for Mass Effect’s return!


Super Mario Maker

My sentiments towards this game went from lukewarm to hot after watching the Nintendo World Championships. Acting as the final battleground, the insane levels that Nintendo made just for this event really showed off its potential. I have no interest in making my own levels, but I’m excited to experience what others come up with. With the right filtering tools to bring the best content to the top, Super Mario Maker could stay in the rotation for a very long time.

 

 

Buy Super Mario Maker Now From Amazon.com

 

 

 


Rock Band 4

My nostalgia for Rock Band knows no bounds. But do I want this in 2015? I don’t quite know. Playing Rock Band Blitz recently got me fired up for more music game action, though am I ready to make room in my already tight condo for more plastic instruments? Furthermore, this new band-in-a-box is expensive. Once upon a time, the full band kit cost $160 Canadian. This new set is a wallet-crippling $300. For those south of the border, it’s $250 American. For the time being, I’ve got this pre-ordered, though it may be in my best interest to raid a pawn shop for old Xbox 360 instruments instead.

 

Buy Rock Band 4 Band-in-a-Box Bundle Now From Amazon.com

 

 

 


 

Rise of the Tomb Raider

The 2013 reboot of Tomb Raider is one that I still remember fondly. There’s no question that I have to play the sequel, though I haven’t quite decided where I’m going to do that. It’s a timed exclusive for the Xbox One, though the inevitable PlayStation 4 release will likely have more content and slightly better graphics. Knowing me, I think I would get more out of playing it first rather than waiting, even if the PS4 version ends up being a bit better. If I change my mind, I can simply cancel my pre-order, but for now, Rise of the Tomb Raider is on the list.

 

 

Buy Rise of the Tomb Raider Now From Amazon.com

 

 


Yoshi’s Woolly World

Yoshi’s solo track record at this point has more misses than hits, but damn it I want to believe in Woolly World. Developed by the makers of Kirby’s Epic Yarn, I have high hopes that Good-Feel is able to capture the magic of Yoshi’s Island while mashing it up with the unique look and art style that made their Kirby game so great. Most of the world should be getting this game soon, though we  in North America won’t get to experience this cutesy platformer until October.

 

 

Buy Yoshi Woolly World Now From Amazon.com

 

 

 


 

Unchated 4: A Thief’s End

The sage of Nathan Drake presumably ends here. Having played and enjoyed the first three, I need to close this out. From what I’ve seen of Uncharted 4, it’s mostly what I expect, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Take the same types of Indiana Jones inspired thrills and up the graphical horsepower and we’re good here. Too bad this one slipped into 2016, but it looks like there’s no shortage of upcoming games to keep me satiated in the meantime.

 

 

Buy Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End Now From Amazon.com

 

 

 


Gears of War 4

Gears of War: Judgment may have been a bust, but that game was clearly stalling for time while the next true installment in the franchise was being made. At E3 this year, Microsoft finally unveiled Gears of War 4. So far, it clearly looks better than its 360 counterparts, though we didn’t really see much in the way of gameplay innovation. Will keep a close eye on this one in hopes of seeing more than just a fresh coat of paint.

 

 

Buy Gears of War 4 Now From Amazon.com

 

 

 


The Legend of Zelda for Wii U

Details are still fairly scarce about this one. We don’t even know the game’s full name just yet. What is known is that the game is designed to be more open in nature and will be released in 2016. Oh, also, it’s gorgeous. Though I generally run hot and cold on Zelda games, the best ones often have a profound effect on me. Fingers crossed that this is going to be another one of those!

 

Buy The Legend of Zelda Now From Amazon.com

 

 


Batman: Arkham Knight

Finally, the true follow-up to Batman: Arkham City is here. The less said about Arkham Origins, the better. With Rocksteady back in development, my expectations for this one are much higher. Based on early reviews, this one should close out the series in style. Expect videos and a review in the near future!

 

 

Buy Batman: Arkham Knight Now From Amazon.com

 

 


Fire Emblem: Fates

The ambitious successor to Fire Emblem: Awakening is a must-have for me. The question here is, how am I getting it? It’s been reported that the game will be split between two different cartridges sold separately. If so, which version am I getting? Is a limited edition with both campaigns included coming over too? If so, can I change my order to that one while keeping the 30% discount? Hoping for the best here, though I’ll gladly pay whatever for more Fire Emblem!

 

 

Buy Fire Emblem Fates Now From Amazon.com

 

 


 

Leave a Reply

