Skip to content
May 14, 2015 / Jett

That Time I Had an Apple Watch for Less Than 24 Hours Before it Broke


This one still stings.

Recently, a concerted effort was put forth by my family, friends and I to get me an Apple Watch for my birthday. As a sucker for Apple products and as someone who is highly prone to splurging on big ticket items on my birthday, this seemed inevitable. For the first night, I was very excited to explore all of the nuances that make this device tick (pun intended).

As part of this exploration process, I decided to unpair it from my phone. Displayed on my screen was a message that read something like, “This may take a while.” Little did I know that it would take much more than a while. When the process seemingly completed, the watch turned off. Holding the power button, it simply refused to move past the Apple logo. Knowing something was wrong, I hurriedly took it to the Apple store close to my work.

The good news is that Apple will take care of me for free and I’ll have a fixed or new watch. The bad news is that I’m watch-less for a few weeks and now have to live with the fear of bricking this thing again. Steff thinks I shouldn’t have tried to unpair it while on the subway, since I didn’t have access to a steady internet connection. There may be some truth to that, though I would like to believe that Apple would have considered this scenario in the design process.

From my research, this particular problem hasn’t been reported by anyone else, though I have my suspicions as to what happened. During the unpairing phase, the watch makes a back-up of its data on the phone. I’m guessing that this process failed, taking everything with it, including all of the data required to boot up. Something similar happened to me years ago with my iPod Nano, as a failed firmware update bricked that minutes after taking it home from the store. Maybe I should reconsider my fandom for a company whose hardware track record has been spotty with me at times, from the Nano incident, to an iPhone 4 with screen damage under the glass as soon as I opened it, and now this.

Was hoping to publish a review on the Apple Watch, but that’s obviously going to have to wait. You better believe though that this incident will show up in my final verdict. Fingers crossed for the rest of you Apple Watch owners that you won’t suffer the same fate!

 

Leave a Reply

