Skip to content
May 2, 2015 / Jett

Amiibo Story: Ike


Ike AmiiboIn the eyes of most, Ike is probably just another sword dude like Marth in Smash Bros. or one of the Amiibo figures that are seemingly impossible to find. To me, Ike is so much more than that. He’s a star character from Fire Emblem; a series that is one of my all-time faves. He also happens to be the star of my favourite game in the series.

Released in 2005, Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance was notable for being the first game in the series to be rendered in full 3D. The game also brought with it a number of enhancements over previous entries, such as playable beasts and bonus XP that players could distribute to certain characters as they please. At the time, it was the biggest shake-up the series had seen.

Since then, Fire Emblem: Awakening has surpassed the Gamecube game on many aspects. While Awakening is amazing, there are a few things in my heart that won’t allow me to give it that #1 spot. For starters, I think that the level designs and mission objectives in Path of Radiance lent themselves better to more interesting battles. Two, I think the story in the Gamecube game is better.

Three, and maybe most importantly, I think the cast of characters in Path of Radiance demolish those in Awakening in terms of personality and charm. Ike, in particular, is my all-time favourite hero from the series. Admittedly, I don’t remember much of the story now, though I always dug how much he grew up through that journey. It also helped that unlike most Fire Emblem protagonists, he wasn’t from royalty. He was just a kid who would grow up to be a man that saved the world.

Pushing things even further were the racial undertones throughout, as this game introduced the anthropomorphic Laguz to the mix. While things between species were testy at best, this epic adventure helped teach both sides a thing or two about tolerance and acceptance. Fire Emblem: Awakening may have a cool time-traveling baby gimmick, though there’s nothing from a story perspective that even comes close to depth that Path of Radiance brought forward.

When Marth would sell out almost instantly and become the unicorn of Amiibo figurines, I didn’t really lose any sleep over it. Sure, having one would be nice, but Marth doesn’t mean much to me. I never used him in the Smash Bros. games, and the one Fire Emblem game he starred in was the only one I didn’t like. With that said, had Ike gone the same route, I would have been devastated.

Not long after full-blown Amiibo-mania hit, guess what happened? Yup, Ike disappeared. For a while, I was very much saddened by how impossible he was to find. Ike pre-, and I’ve never seen him in store. Luckily for me, there was a brief window of time when Amazon UK was selling Ike for $25 including shipping. Yes, that’s about $10 more than retail, but I’d be

Buy an Ike Amiibo Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

