Skip to content
April 25, 2015 / Jett

Amiibo Story: Mega Man


Mega Man AmiiboI vividly remember the first time I ever played a Mega Man game. It was the summer of 1990 and a family friend that was a year older than me had come over to my house with his new copy of Mega Man 2. Having never heard of the franchise up until then, I had no idea what to expect when I booted it up. Within seconds, the music in my ears was all I needed to hear to know that I was in for something special.

No, it wasn’t the legendary intro music that got me. It was the stage music for Bubble Man. As a child of the NES era, I had heard many of the most iconic gaming music by then. However, that Bubble Man music took me aback in a way that video game music hadn’t done for me before. I loved everything about that track and to this day, it’s probably my single favourite video game music composition of all-time.

Beyond that, oh my goodness what a game! The concept of beating a boss and using that weapon against other bosses was mind-blowing to me at the time. Eventually, I would come up with a preferred boss order, but the idea that you could approach the game in a myriad of different ways was fascinating to me. Furthermore, that game was so good, I played it dozens, if not hundreds of times over, even when I played it in the same order. As a 6-year-old, I would have placed Mega Man 2 in my top 5 greatest of all-time. As a 30-year-old man who has played hundreds of games since, I think Mega Man is easily still in that elite bracket.

My arc with the Blue Bomber was strange from there. I had played the apex and nothing else would ever surpass it. The original was a bit rough around the edges. Mega Man 3 was a great game, but not quite to that level. Mega Man X is phenomenal, but not quite to that level. Everything else was more or less a wash. Maybe the rest of his catalogue doesn’t hold up, but Mega Man 2 is a masterpiece.

From the moment he was announced as part of the Amiibo line, Mega Man jumped to the top of my priority list. I actually got my Amazon pre-order in December, just hours before the pre-order slots would disappear completely. As reports of Mega Man figures starting to hit stores came about in February, I got nervous, as Amazon still hadn’t given me a shipping date. Word got around that Futureshop was starting to get them in store, which caused Steff and I to frantically try and reserve one. Most of our attempts got rejected, but we each got one locked in at two different stores.

Later that night, I went to pick Mega Man up and the cashier commented on how lucky we were. That store had received a total of one (!) Mega Man and after Steff’s order, an avalanche of 30 more orders immediately came in. As for the Amazon figure, it did eventually come my way and I sold it to my brother at retail price.

In the world of Amiibo hunting, you most likely can’t catch them all, unless have infinite money, infinite time and a really fast trigger finger on F5. Because of my fondness for Mega Man 2, I was going to do everything in my power to scoop him up. Overjoyed to have him as part of my set!


Buy a Mega Man Amiibo Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

