Skip to content
March 21, 2015 / Jett

Amiibo Story: Bowser


Bowser AmiiboIn a weird way, Bowser has been my life long video game arch nemesis. Since the original Super Mario Bros. was the game that got me into video games years before I was even old enough to go to school, I’ve been battling the King Koopa for as long as I can remember. Nowadays, I usually give him the boot with relative ease, though things certainly weren’t in my favour back then.

To this day, I’ve never beaten Bowser in World 8-4 of the original Super Mario Bros. on the NES. Heck, I can’t even get to World 8-4 now. At best, I get to 8-3 and just die repeatedly. Maybe some day I’ll finish him off on our first battleground, but for now, this one alludes me.

As a kid, I also couldn’t beat Super Mario 3 or Super Mario World until Danny Lee, and old friend of mine, came over to my house one day. Without hesitation, he destroyed both of those games in front of my eyes while showing me the path to victory. Inspired and informed, I would eventually follow his lead and beat Bowser on my own in those titles. Up until this moment, his name hadn’t crossed my mind in decades, though I hope he’s still doing well.

Not every Bowser fight is great, though two in particular stand out as legendary to me. The first is the Bowser battle in Super Mario 64. It was the first time we tangled in a 3D game and one of the first examples of what was possible within that level of depth. For the time, this was truly revolutionary.

The second battle that I’ll forever remember fondly was the final level of New Super Mario Bros Wii. Besides the unique spin on a final battle, Steff, Michelle, Jascha and I spent an entire night powering through that game from beginning to end. It wasn’t particularly hard until this point, but oh my goodness did Bowser take us to town. Hours after we first encountered him, we finally squeaked by him at 3am to put an end to his antics once and for all. Every now and then when we hang out, we still talk about that awesome time when we beat that game as a team.

Of the Amiibos currently out, Bowser is my favourite. The build quality and detail on him is amazing. Compared to the others, he’s a hefty beast that clearly isn’t to be messed with. He’s a fitting first villain in my collection and I’m glad to have him!


Buy Bowser Amiibo Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. gamesthatiplay / Mar 21 2015 10:41 AM

    Good stories. Well worth remembering. I remember him all the way back from the original. When he was in every castle and I’ve gotta say his Amiibo is pretty awesome and detailed with all those scales.

Leave a Reply

