Skip to content
February 26, 2015 / Jett

Amiibo Story: Mario


Mario AmiiboMario has been a part of my life for almost as long as I can remember. I vaguely remember playing Defender on a hand-me-down Atari 2600, but when I was just old enough to comprehend what video games were, it was when I was playing the original Super Mario Bros. with an NES controller in my hands. Much has changed since I first played a game with Mario in it, but he’s been with me all the way.

During my elementary school days, Super Mario 1, 2 and 3 were as big as they come. Yes, Super Mario 2 is weird and not really a Mario game, but it’s awesome for what it is. The other two games are the gold standard for games of that era, and possibly of all-time. Super Mario 1 is the blueprint for countless other video games, while Super Mario 3 will probably be incredible forever.

I’ve grown up with the understanding that games with Mario in it are quality, which is a guideline that Nintendo has mostly held up. Super Mario World still stands as my all-time favourite Mario game. Super Mario Kart single-handedly created the kart racing genre; one that it continues to dominate today. Super Mario 64 ushered in the 3D era of gaming. Even outside of platformers, Mario was the face that bought us the mini-game collection with Mario Party, the lead character in Super Smash Bros., and the star of many stellar sports games.

Not everything in Mario’s back catalogue is stellar, and there may even be a few duds in there (I’m looking at you, Mario is Missing), but Mario’s string of hits take course over the duration of my life. His games coloured my interpretation of what good games are all about and continue to build on that with more great titles today. With Smash Bros., Mario Kart 8 and Super Mario 3D World, he already has a trifecta of phenomenal games on the Wii U. Glad to have Mario as a lifelong friend and hope that the great games keep on coming!

Playing a Mario game is usually something worth writing about, but there wasn’t much to my purchase of a Mario Amiibo. When I saw Diddy Kong was available on Amazon.ca, I also grabbed a Mario to qualify for free shipping. He also is probably going to be the most functional Amiibo in terms of what games will support him. Most importantly, he’s the symbol for how I fell in love with games and why I continue to play them today.


Buy Mario Amiibo Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

