Skip to content
February 13, 2015 / Jett

Amiibo Story: Samus


Samus AmiiboSamus is one of my favourite Nintendo characters. Sporting iconic armor, an arm cannon and the ability to curl up into a ball and drop rolling grenades, she’s one of the most combat-ready characters in Nintendo’s lineup. The big reveal of her being a she is one of the first breakthrough moments for female characters in video games. She’s even been one of my favourite characters to play as in the Smash Bros. series since the very beginning.

However, the sight of Samus also brings with it a reminder of a gaming Achilles Heel of mine. I suck at Metroid and Metroid-style games.

Back when I first played Metroid on the NES in the mid 80s, I was way too young to grasp its world structure. I didn’t understand the concept of areas being locked until you found key items that opened doors or enabled her to open secret passageways. As such, I simply ran around and shot things until I got bored. Between the ages of 3-5 years old, this was fine and dandy to me.

By the time Super Metroid came out, that game won me over in a big way with its opening sequence. That big first battle with Ridley, followed by the riveting escape of the complex before it blew up is forever etched in my mind. Sadly, I can’t tell you much of what happens after that. I actually own that game on SNES and Wii U Virtual Console, but have repeatedly failed to make any sort of headway. Every time I play it, I eventually get so lost that I have no recourse but to give up.

The closest I ever got to finishing a Metroid game was Metroid Prime on the Gamecube. I adore that game for being amazingly fun while showing the world that the first person shooters didn’t have to be of the Doom variety. Unlike the other games in the series, where failure sets in quickly, I actually almost beat the game. Unfortunately, I ended up quitting on that game too because I was too far lost to find my way again.

Someday, I will right these wrongs. Whether it means I go back and finish an old Metroid game or complete a future entry in the series, I want to be able to say that I’ve finished at least one in my lifetime. At the very least, I want to get the most out of at least one Metroid game, as everything I’ve played so far has been quality.

My Samus Amiibo came to me as a Christmas gift from Steff’s parents. It was quite a watershed year for us, as I took a big leap of faith in asking them for permission to marry their daughter, and they took a big leap of faith by saying yes. The Amiibo is great, but I think when I look back at this year, my memories of her parents will likely head back to that day when asked the most important question of my life.


Buy Samus Amiibo Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

