Skip to content
December 29, 2014 / Jett

Amiibo Story: Pit


Some of my earliest memories of gaming involve Kid Icarus. Not so much the actual playing of the game, but the hype surrounding it. In talks with other kids who were into Nintendo, Kid Icarus was thrown out there as being one of those marquee titles along with the likes of Mario and The Legend of Zelda. Heck, even Pit was a key sidekick in Captain N: The Game Master.

However, at the time, I didn’t understand the hype. I didn’t like that game as a kid and I still don’t like it now. Years later though, Pit would win me over with one of my all-time favourite Nintendo 3DS games.

Pit’s triumphant return in Kid Icarus: Uprising was a damn near masterpiece. Instead of sticking to the platforming trappings of the original, he returns in a fast and dynamic action game that transitions between ground and air combat. The combat is generally straightforward, though the actual encounters are great and there’s a ton of customization involved that allows you to approach the battle in many different ways.

I think what stands out to me the most was all of the dialogue that takes place, as Pit, Palutena and the rest of the cast are hilariously bantering with each other throughout. It’s particularly poignant when it pokes fun at itself for being a B-tier Nintendo franchise that hasn’t seen the light of day in 25 years. Based on how phenomenal Uprising is, I really hope that we don’t have to wait another 25 years for a follow-up. Just writing this makes me want to throw that game in my 3DS right now and start it up again.

As of writing, Pit is one of the hardest characters to come by. Then again, it seems like a large majority of them are tough to track down at this point. How I got him was a bit of serendipity. On that Tuesday, at about 1:30 in the afternoon, I just so happened to get inside an EB Games right after they pulled out their stock of Pit figures. People were walking buy with 3-5 figures in hand towards the checkout line, so I made a beeline for the Amiibo section. Luckily, there was one more left! Scooped him up immediately and proceeded to complete my purchase.

It’s crazy to think that I literally had a 5-second window to grab him and I just so happened to be in the right place at the right time. I’m not going to get this lucky most of the time, and I may never get lucky in my Amiibo hunting ever again. But the fact that I got a character I really wanted for personal reasons that is super hard to find feels great. Welcome to the family Pit!


Buy Pit Amiibo Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

