Skip to content
December 22, 2014 / Jett

An Amiibo Story: Princess Zelda


Skylanders and Disney Infinity toys are alright, but they certainly don’t pull at my heart strings quite like Nintendo’s Amiibo line of figurines. Based on their legendary roster of characters – and a few friends from outside of the family – these figurines are symbolic of my love of not only Nintendo, but video games as a whole. Most of these characters ushered me into the medium as a young child and have continued to provide me with joy ever since.

Having just bought my first Amiibo, I thought it’d be cool to write about the process of collecting these figures and what each one means to me. Let’s start this off with the first Amiibo in my collection, who just so happens to be the first lady of Hyrule.

The Legend of Zelda series has been a part of my life for about as long as I’ve been playing video games. Granted, back when I was first introduced to the series at about the age of 3, I didn’t really get much out of it. As Link, I got the sword, walked around the world and hit bad guys until I got bored. It wasn’t until A Link to the Past where I was mature enough as a gamer to grasp the concept of a Zelda-style adventure.

I’ve played most of the games in the series, though I haven’t always experienced much with Hyrule’s royalty. Off the top of my head, I know I haven’t finished the original, Zelda II, Majora’s Mask, Wind Waker and Skyward Sword. However, in the games that I have completed, she’s an integral part of the experience. She may be in the clutches of Gannon from time-to-time, though it’s her presence outside of her being a damsel in distress that stick with me the most.

The most memorable of them all has to be her role in The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Whether she’s a kid or an adult, she’s a strong ally in the fight against Gannon. One of my all-time favourite boss battles involves her tag-teaming with Link to defeat Gannon after the pair escape from a crumbling castle. On top of all that, she was also secretly Sheik, the elusive ninja who probably is still the most bad ass character in the entire Zelda universe. Ocarina of Time is one of my all-time favourite games, and she’s one of the best parts of it.

That duality of Zelda/Sheik played a key role in her appearance in Smash Bros. Melee. As Zelda, she fought with magic attacks. With the push of a button though, she could instantly switch into Sheik and kick your teeth in with her ninja skills. Because of this, she was one of my favourite characters in Melee to play as. She may spend some time being someone that Link has to save, but she’s proven herself more than capable of holding her own in almost every game she’s appeared in.

With the Amiibo hype on full tilt, I’ve noticed that the Wave 2 figures disappearing before they even hit store shelves. Of late, each time I go to the store, the Amiibo section is a wasteland of empty pegs and a few super common characters. On this fateful day, it was a handful of those super common characters, along with only two Zelda figures. Knowing that I may not see her again any time soon, I scooped her up immediately.

I don’t plan on collecting these to resell or to keep in mint condition. I just want the characters that I like and I’ll open them as soon as I have a game to use them in. Having said that, I like almost all of the Nintendo universe, so…


Buy Zelda Amiibo Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

