Skip to content
December 7, 2014 / Jett

My 2014 Holiday Wishlist


I’ve been told on many occasions that I’m horrible to shop for. Ever since I joined the workforce, I would go out of my way to purchase everything I ever wanted as soon as humanly possible. It’s part of the reason why I’ve been able to generate so much content for this site over the years.

This year’s a bit different. While I am not broke or unemployed, my financial situation is such that I can no longer maintain that lifestyle. As such, my wish list is a country mile long. I won’t share the whole thing in this post, but here are a few choice items from my wish list this year!


Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker

The Toad levels in Super Mario 3D World were some of my favourites. When Nintendo announced that they were expanding on the concept with an all-new game, it immediately rocketed up to the top of my most wanted list. I’m certainly down to play a full game with those puzzling levels. While most of the attention will be focused on Super Smash Bros. and other blockbuster gaming releases, this under-the-radar title may prove to be the hidden gem of the holiday season.


Buy Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker Now From Amazon.com


Wonder Woman Vol. 5: Flesh

Out of all the comic books I’ve read this year, none of them has surprised me like Wonder Woman. Had I not picked up the first book from a store clearance sale, I may have missed out on this wonderful series by Brian Azzarello and Cliff Chiang. I know their run with Diana Prince recently ended, though the books haven’t caught up just yet. Having said that, this latest release is one of their last, so I’ll be sure to cherish it if it does make it under my Christmas tree.


Buy Wonder Woman Vol. 5: Flesh Now From Amazon.com


 

Dead of Winter

Dead of Winter is hyped up as being the true board game equivalent of The Walking Dead. In this semi-cooperative board game, players are trying to survive a harsh winter during the zombie apocalypse. There’s one main objective that everyone has to work together to complete, though each player also has their own secret objective that they need to complete in order to win. The conflict between wanting to help your team versus help yourself. Regardless of how you approach it each turn, the zombies will try and make sure that no one wins. As a means of living out my Walking Dead dreams in board game form, Dead of Winter would make for a great gift.


Buy Dead of Winter Now From Amazon.com


 

Super Smash Bros. for Wii U

Admittedly, I’ve been out of the Smash Bros. loop since Brawl came out. However, I do have a plethora of fond memories with the Nintendo 64 and Gamecube games, and this latest installment has been gaining a tremendous amount of positive buzz. I may not end up being an active online warrior, but the game is so packed with content that it may be worth it for the single player alone. With that said, I’m certainly going to at least play some online, and hopefully get a bunch of my friends over to see how epic 8-player Smash matches can be.


Buy Super Smash Bros. for Wii U Now From Amazon.com


 

XCOM: The Board Game

I love XCOM. I love board games. This should be a match made in heaven, right? I really hope so! 1-4 players act as the four department heads of XCOM during an alien invasion. Together, you must carefully manage your resources in order to save the Earth. I personally prefer the on-foot action of XCOM, though the broader management side of things may make for a great board game that I can get more people to play. Most of the people I play board games with may not want to command soldiers on a battlefield, but they may want to play something that looks very loosely like Pandemic. I have my fingers and toes crossed that this lives


That’s just a part of my gigantic list! If you’re Santa Claus, you know where to go for the rest of it 😉

Now the obligatory business shill stuff.

If you’re going to do any sort of holiday shopping through Amazon, why not shop through the Amazon-powered In Third Person store? You can buy all the same things through the online retailer you love while also supporting the site. A number of people have purchased items through In Third Person and I’m forever grateful for that. If you want to buy something for that special someone (or me, if they’re not the same thing), check it out!

Leave a Reply

