Skip to content
November 7, 2014 / Jett

Some Nights


Some nights, when I’m playing Ultra Street Fighter IV online, I feel like I’m invincible. There are sessions where I go the entire evening without losing a match. Most of the time, I’ll win about 80% of my matches. In the grand scheme of things, that’s still amazing. Most recently, I had a miracle run with Decapre, where I took the character from 2,000 BP to 10,000 BP in two weeks. For context, I’ve played as Akuma on-and-off for years in the Street Fighter IV series and never got higher than 5,000 BP.

Last night was not one of those nights. In fact, it was easily my worst night ever in Ultra Street Fighter IV.

Things started out normal enough. I won three matches and was on the verge of winning a fourth when the game froze up and said I had signed out of PSN. Though I did nothing to provoke it, the game counts any mid-match disconnections as a rage quite. As such, I lost about 128 PP and my Decapre lost 50 BP for reasons beyond my control.

It only got worse from there. I then lost a series of matches in a row that I shouldn’t have. Not to take away from my opponent’s victories, but I could have played better than I did. The breaking point for me came when I finally won a match and the game glitched out and took points away from me anyway. Despite my win, the glitch actually dropped me out of being the #1 Decapre in Canada; a spot I held for only a day. As the Notorious B.I.G. once said, “Your reign on the top was short like leprechauns.”

Now furious, I forced myself to try and right the wrongs of the game. This proved to be a horrible decision, as I lost even more matches in my rattled state. By the end of it, I had lost over half of my matches, hundreds of BP and almost 1,000 PP in the process. No amount of swearing at my TV, fightstick dropping or stress ball throwing was going to make this better.

Some nights, I may feel invincible, though it’s nights like these where the Street Fighter gods remind me that I’m far from that. I got beat by worthy opponents and the glitches only added more salt to the wound. Also, it’s a reminder that I’ve only been playing Decapre seriously for two weeks. I have a great success rate with Rose because I’ve had years of practice, and my Rolento does well because I came into this game with Rolento practice from Street Fighter X Tekken. There’s still much for me to learn with Decapre, and last night was further proof of that. Next time I step up to play, all I can do is play my best in hopes of preventing this from happening again, knowing that at some point, it probably will happen again. Hoping that day comes much later rather than sooner.


Buy a Mad Catz Arcade FightStick PRO Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

