Skip to content
May 23, 2014 / Jett

Wonder Woman: Ends of the Earth Review


After catching up on her brilliant New 52 run, I was at a loss for where to continue my adventure with Wonder Woman. Despite her longevity, her books are oddly scare on store shelves or at major online retailers. Forget about tracking down the best Diana Prince books based on popular opinion, it’s been hard to find anything at all to read. Eventually, I tracked down Wonder Woman: Ends of the Earth by Gail Simone and Aaron Lopresti, which is the second of their five Wonder Woman books.

In this book, you’ll get the Ends of the Earth story arc, as well as the two-issue run of Celebrity. In the first, Diana gets pulled into a cross-dimensional plot to kill the devil. In the latter, a movie studio is producing a movie based on her life. Will she give the movie her blessing?

The main attraction is a hard one to judge. I get the sense that it makes a lot of reference to events that have either happened immediately before this or have taken place somewhere in her lifetime. Without being able to fill in the gaps, I don’t feel like I got the full effect of the story. As is, I felt like Ends of the Earth got too bogged down by Wonder Woman trudging her way through the other dimension with stiff barbarians while complaining about the voodoo magic at play. I didn’t like this one very much at all.

Though Celebrity seems to be the tacked-on story to make the page counts work out for this book, I actually like it way more. Simone is able to capture a fine balance between action, drama, satire and girl power that I loved from her New 52 run. It’s also perfectly paced to build up and peak at the right moment. Too bad that this only makes up 1/3 of the book because this is easily the best story in there.

The Ends of the Earth package is uneven, though Celebrity proves to me that Gail Simone can write a great Wonder Woman story. I’m not necessarily in a rush to read more of her work, though I think I’ll give it another shot eventually. At the very least, I’d recommend tracking down issues 24 and 25 to experience the Celebrity arc.


Buy Wonder Woman: Ends of the Earth Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

