Skip to content
May 19, 2014 / Jett

Pick-Up Post: Happy Birthday to Me


photo(43)

In adulthood, reaching a birthday isn’t as exciting as it used to be. One more year removed from youth, getting old can be depressing or scary. Thankfully, I’m in a great place in life, so that helps. Also, all of the sweet birthday gifts I got surely make a positive impact as well. For the purposes of this post, I’ll write about the video game goodies I got.

Mario Golf: World Tour

At last, Nintendo returns with its first new installment in the Mario Golf franchise since the Gamecube days. As a huge fan of the Nintendo 64 game, I’m stoked to get a modernized take on that core formula with new courses and online play. Of late, most of my time on the subway has been spent reading comics, though I’ll gladly take a break for some quality golf action.

Buy Mario Golf: World Tour Now From Amazon.com

Trials Fusion

I’m still a sucker for motorcycles and obstacle courses. Trials Fusion is the latest in the series from Red Lynx and thier first on next gen consoles. I grabbed the PlayStation 4 disc version thanks to a gift card, so look for more on this one soon!

Buy Trials Fusion Now From Amazon.com

Xbox One – Titanfall Bundle

Best girlfriend ever? I think so. Ever since Titanfall came out, my interest in Microsoft’s next gen console has risen quite a bit. In fact, I almost bought one close to the game’s release, as I had a few hundred dollars worth of store credit that I could have used to grab it. Instead, this ended up being the last present in my collection of gifts. With all of the next gen consoles in my possession, I no longer need to stress out about console exclusives or platform biases and just play what I want to play. Expect a lot of Xbox One content in the near future!

Buy Xbox One Console – Titanfall Bundle Now From Amazon.com

Mad Catz Killer Instinct Arcade Fightstick Tournament Edition 2

Remember that store credit I had set aside for an Xbox One? Instead, I used that money towards a fightstick for the console. Killer Instinct so far seems rad and I’d much prefer to play it with the right controller. Though it’s the only fighstick on the market for Xbox One players, I can say so far that it’s a great choice nonetheless. Full review on the way!

Buy Mad Catz Killer Instinct Arcade FightStick – Tournament Edition 2 Now From Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

