Skip to content
May 16, 2014 / Jett

The Walking Dead Vol. 1: Days Gone Bye Review


The story of Rick Grimes and his fight for survival starts here. In The Walking Dead Vol. 1: Days Gone Bye, he wakes up alone from a coma to find the world overrun with zombies. He races out to Atlanta in hopes of finding his family while trying to make sense of what the world has become.

Before reading this, I watched the TV show, which follows Days Gone By very closely. I tried my best to disassociate the two, but I had a hard time doing so. There are many great parts in this comic that I think the show improves upon in the way in which those scenes play out. In particular, I like how the show noodles with the order of events to create more drama. I also like how the show conveys specific plot points without being overly heavy-handed about it, which I think is the case a lot of the time in the comic.

Where it won me over was in the ways that it differed from the show. Darryl and Merle are nowhere to be found. Carl is much younger here, which gives that character a different dynamic. Most importantly, there’s a conflict here that resolves in a way that caught me by surprise. Due to having watched the show, it was one of the few times where the book really hit home for me, and it did at the right time.

Tony Moore’s art is all in black and white with grey shading. When he’s simply moving the story forward, his panels look fine. It’s when there’s an action scene or a large panel where his detail work really shines. Overall, I came away really liking the look of it.

The parts in which the comic are the same as the TV show aren’t what make Days Gone Bye interesting for me, even if the comic was the place where it all started. At this point, the top draw is seeing where Robert Kirkman and Tony Moore differ in the comic. In vol. 1, the changes are drastic enough to catch me off guard and entice me for more.


Buy The Walking Dead, Vol. 1: Days Gone Bye Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

