Skip to content
April 28, 2014 / Jett

Superman/Wonder Woman #1 Review


I probably came into Superman/Wonder Woman #1 with a different perspective than most. Superman has never been my cup of tea, but New 52-era Wonder Woman is my jam. In search of more modern Diana Prince content, I turned to this. Issue #1 lays the groundwork for the ultimate power couple story.

Storms are brewing in the world of the Man of Steel and the Amazonian warrior princess. One is a literal storm off the coast of the Atlantic ocean. The other is between the new lovers. Wonder Woman is used to being upfront and proud of who she is, while Superman has lived a life of secrecy. These ideological differences make up the first rift between the two.

I may not be a fan of Tony S. Daniel’s writing work on Batman – Detective Comics, but I always thought his artwork on that comic was great. His work continues to be great here, especially during action panels. Writing is handled by Charles Soule, who provides a solid start for the duo. I appreciate his efforts to find a balance between the pair kicking butt and being romantic and I look forward to seeing where things go from here. If anything, I wish there was a bit more chemistry shown between the two. Superman/Wonder Woman #1 isn’t on pace to be my new favourite Wonder Woman comic yet, but this was an enjoyable read that has me interested in more.


Buy Superman/Wonder Woman #1 Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

