Skip to content
April 28, 2014 / Jett

Off-Topic: Tip the Scale


About a year ago, I was standing on the outdoor scale at the Heart Attack Grill in Las Vegas. As someone who hadn’t stepped on one in a very long time, those rising numbers came up and smacked me like an uppercut to the chin. I know I hadn’t done anything to keep that number down, but having the number be that high and exposed in a public venue like that was a certainly a wake-up call.

Though I sat on my butt for far too long, I finally found the motivation to do something about it. It’s been over a month since I started hitting the gym and I definitely feel better. I’m better able to withstand the stresses that come with this cardio-focused workout. Strictly from a visual perspective, I think that my face and my gut are less pronounced than they used to be as well. Having recently stepped on the scale, the results caught me off guard.

As I stared down towards the floor, the number on the scale read exactly the same as the number on the Heart Attack Grill scale a year ago. My immediate reaction was disappointment. How could I have not made a difference in that time? However, thinking about it, a year is a long time to gain weight. Not having been active during that time, it’s quite possible that I simply gained even more weight. Considering the differences I see in myself since I started exercising, I have to believe that this is what’s happened. Now that I own a scale, I can better track my progress rather than relying on the eye test.

The important thing for me to remember is that the road to weight loss is a long one for pretty much everyone. It takes a lot of work and smart dieting to get the results you’re looking for and even more work to maintain it. I’m only at the start of my journey and having stuck with it for a month is a victory in itself. If I continue to put in the work, the results will eventually show up on the scale.


Buy Wii Fit U w/Wii Balance Board Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

