Skip to content
March 31, 2014 / Jett

My Comic Book To-Read List – Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.1: Cosmic Avengers


With a big-budget Hollywood movie due later this year, Marvel has high hopes for the Guardians of the Galaxy. Days before the first trailer was officially released, issue #1 made a positive first impression on me. I liked how the space setting made that issue read sort of like Mass Effect with super heroes. Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers is on my list of books to buy and read, but the pricing of this book has proven to be a roadblock.

For whatever reason, the hardcover edition Vol. 1 is a bit more expensive than than most other hardcover comic compilations. Buying this at regular price is going to cost me over $30, which is obnoxious. At its lowest, it still runs for over $20. This is rather unusual, as most other hardcover graphic novels of this scope run for under $20. In fact, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Angela can be easily found for under $20. I don’t understand why this book in particular gets premium pricing when there isn’t really anything all that special about it.

When it comes down dollars, do I bite the bullet and pay a premium for this? Or do I go with another volume of X-Men at market value that I’m fairly certain will be great? Or do I go with Wonder Woman, which for some reason is notably cheaper than all of the other trade paperbacks available, yet it’s arguably the best thing going?

Price relief is on the way though, thankfully. The softcover version is due for release in June, which will finally push the price down to below $20. I’m not starving for comic content to read between now and then, so I’ll survive without for now.


Buy Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

