Skip to content
March 14, 2014 / Jett

Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag Impressions


Ubisoft’s historical tale of guys shanking other guys continues to be wildly popular, though my interest in it has been in decline for years. After the series peaked during the ACII/AC Brotherhood era, they followed them up with two clunkers in Revelations and III. I had no interest in playing IV at all, but because of all the positive buzz surrounding this latest installment, a trade-in credit burning a hole in my pocket and a thirst for quality PS4 games to play, I gave it a shot.

This time, you’re assuming the role of Edward Kenway, the grandfather of Connor and father of Haytham. Originally based in Europe, Edward takes a job offer that requires him to live a pirate’s life within the western hemisphere. It was supposed to be a temporary gig, but when his boat crashes off the coast of Cuba, he’s gotta make lemonade with the lemons he’s given.

While it’s clear to see that Assassin’s Creed IV isn’t a full step forward in terms of next gen visuals, it looks great. All of the details are sharply rendered and it’s just neat to look at. The new Caribbean setting goes a long way to making things look fresh.

From the bit that I’ve played so far, I really like Edward Kenway as a character. Unlike Connor, who I felt was too self-serious, Edward Kenway is a happy-go-lucky guy with an infectious personality. I didn’t think this type of change would make a difference on my overall enjoyment of the game, but it totally does, as the actions he goes through and the way he deals with them are more in line with how I’d want things to go down.

At this point, I’m close to finishing chapter 3, though I don’t know if I’ll ever beat Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag. Despite a heavier pirate focus, this still feels a lot like the Assassin’s Creed games of old, even if it’s a bit more polished. I’m also still in the midst of a video game funk where I’m just not all that interested in playing stuff. I won’t stop you from sailing the high seas with Edward, but this is probably where I end my journey.


Buy Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

