Skip to content
February 21, 2014 / Jett

Some Thoughts Before The Release of DC Comics Deck-Building Game: Heroes Unite


DC Comics Deck-Building Game: Heroes UniteJust before Christmas, I had a pre-order in place for DC Comics Deck-Building Game: Heroes Unite. I like the first game for what it is, and this standalone game also acts as an expansion for it. However, common sense got the best of me when I realized that putting my money down for this now would just cut Steff off from one potential gift idea. As it turns out, the game would get pushed back to February 26th.

Though this would have been a done deal by had it come out during its initial release window, but now I’m not so sure if this is deserving of my money.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure that this will be a solid product based on its connection with the original. Though as time has passed, our interest in the game has definitely cooled off. DC hasn’t made it to the table in quite some time and Legendary is starting to gain some momentum within our gaming groups. Buying Heroes Unite could reinvigorate our interest in it, though it would still have a tough time delivering the more thematic and involved thrills that our groups like in Legendary.

DC Comics Deck-Building Game: Heroes Unite

Another factor that weights on my decision is the selection of heroes the game lets you play as. In the original, you get DC’s finest, but it already has characters that our group doesn’t want to play as. Characters like Aquaman, Green Lantern, Cyborg or Martian Manhunter get the cold shoulder because we don’t recognize them or because we think they’re lame characters. With Heroes Unite, they’ve gone down a tier or two with their choices. Batgirl and Nightwing make sense, but me and my group of gamers have no interest in Shazam, Black Canary, Red Tornado, Hawk Man or Booster Gold.

Street Fighter Deck-Building GameOn top of all that, Cryptozoic – the makers of DC – have also announced that a Street Fighter deck-building game is on the way that is built on the exact same gameplay engine with additional gameplay enhancements to make it stand out. By buying Street Fighter and Heroes Unite, I will have essentially bought the same game three times over. If I’m going to buy the same game again, I’ll lean towards the one with the enhanced gameplay…and the one that says Street Fighter on it.

If you haven’t played the DC Comics Deck-Building Game yet, definitely give it a go. I think it’s a fun and fast deck-builder that works particularly well for introducing newcomers to the genre. Had it ultimately not been for the announcement of Street Fighter, I probably still would have bought Heroes Unite. Who knows, I may cave and buy this anyway in classic Jett fashion. DC Comics Deck-Building Game: Heroes Unite is scheduled for release on February 26th.


Buy DC Comics Deck-Building Game: Heroes Unite Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

