Skip to content
February 9, 2014 / Jett

The Value Proposition of Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game


Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game looks awesome. Based on the video tutorials and reviews I’ve seen, it appears to do an amazing job of translating the Star Wars brand of space battles to the tabletop. In particular, I think that the mechanics that dictates movement is genius and a perfect fit for the types of ships you’re commanding. I really would like to pick this one up, but the value proposition of the base set makes it hard to pull the trigger.

In Canada, the base game goes between $30 and $40. In terms of boxed board games, that seems like a reasonable price. In relation to games designed around miniatures, I’d imagine that this is a steal. However, the base game only comes with three miniatures: one X-Wing and two TIE Fighters.

I get the advantages that come with packing in just three ships. For instance, it keeps the cost of the base set down. It also allows you to expand the game with any combination of expansion ships as you’d like. Still, your starting investment of $30-40 doesn’t go very far until you buy extra ships that can go for $15-25 each. By the time you get a setup that you’re happy with, you may easily dropped upwards of $100 or more.

If you can justify the investment, then by all means go for it. From what I gather, this is a critically acclaimed game that has sold like hotcakes. For me, it’s tough to swallow. I just don’t think that I’ll be able to play this enough with those that I play with to justify the investment. So for now, I’ll admire the game from afar until I can pick up a set for myself. But if I ever do, my dining room table is going to look epic.


Buy Star Wars X-Wing Miniatures Game Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

