Skip to content
February 5, 2014 / Jett

How many board games is too many?


Board Game ShelfHow many is too many? It depends on your definition of too many. With video games, I’m very particular about what that exactly means. At this point, I’ll make shelf space for any great ones I’m currently playing or have played before, but my tolerance for keeping mediocre titles or ones that I’ll realistically never play has dropped dramatically. Since October, I’ve traded in about 40 games that I felt were worth more as trade bait than as artifacts in my collection. As I continue to invest into my new board game hobby, this question is beginning to become a factor in my buying process.

The easy answer to this would be to apply my existing video game logic to this collection. However, there are specific factors that must also be considered. For example, most board games take up more space than your standard video game case. Adding to that factor is our current board game storage solution, which is just a small bookshelf. With that shelf quickly filling up, I’m going to have to consider the inevitable situation where that shelf becomes full. Since I’m reluctant to add more furniture to our already tight living quarters, it may be best to slow down for now.

The other, and more relevant aspect to this, is the frequency in which we play our games. Steff and I play board games once or twice a month, and we play roughly 1-3 games per session. I wish we played a bit more, and we do make an effort to do so, but when most of these games are dependent on others, you make due with the time you have.

Legendary Dr. DoomWhile certain games will always stay in heavy rotation, such as Ticket to Ride, there are already others in our collection that don’t get played as much as we’d like. For instance, I want to play more Legendary, but I’m lucky if we play that once every three or four months. Other games in our collection that I think could use more love include Blokus, DC Comics Deck-Building Game and Yomi.

There are other games I want to play that we don’t own, but we’re already spread thin between the games we already own and want to play. Add to that the burden that comes with the larger box sizes for these games, and it gets increasingly difficult to justify buying more. This is definitely a first-world problem, but one that should be considered whenever you start building a collection of anything.


Buy Pandemic Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. NE1 / Feb 5 2014 11:18 AM

    I’m not sure if this is true for you but there are very few video games I keep around for certain audiences and certain occasions (Rock Band being one) but I have several board games that I will literally not use for 6 months that are the only ones I even think of bringing when going to visit family. The social-ness of Board games make them difficult to weed out.

    Perhaps every time you play a game move it to the top shelf and everything else down. Then in a few months you can look at what’s on the bottom shelf and really not getting played. Just a thought.

    • Jett / Feb 6 2014 9:42 AM

      Thanks for the comment!

      You’re right about how situational board games can be. Luckily I still have shelf space left, though I have been thinking about the games in my stash that I could let go if I do run out. There’s at least one or two that I wouldn’t mind parting with.

Leave a Reply

