Skip to content
February 1, 2014 / Jett

Looking Back At Super Street Fighter II on the Super Nintendo


During the golden age of fighting games, I did most of my virtual pugilism at home. Wiith a Super Nintendo controller in hand, my friends and I spent countless hours playing Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat and Killer Instinct. For me, my fighting game frenzy reached its peak with Super Street Fighter II on the SNES.

When that game came out on home platforms, it cost a whopping $100. Games back then were more expensive than they were now, but that was the first game I remember reaching that triple-digit plateau. Despite my uncontrollable desire to own that game, there was no way I could afford that at my age. Months would pass before I finally bought a used copy for $30 at Jumbo Video, but I came out of that store with a grin as large as the moon. All that mattered was that the fact that the game was now mine.

For me at the time, this represented a big jump for the franchise. Its graphics taken up a notch to look prettier than any other fighter at the time. All the existing characters were given new moves or balance changes to make things more interesting. Of course, the most dramatic change here was the introduction of Cammy, Fei Long, T. Hawk and Dee Jay, as they were the first new characters the series had seen since Street Fighter II hit the scene. I immediately gravitated towards Cammy and Fei Long and have been fans of theirs ever since.

Due to the genre getting overly complex and the games getting ported to non-Nintendo platforms that I didn’t own, this also became the last major fighting game I got into. For over a decade between it and Street Fighter IV, Super Street Fighter II did an amazing job of satiating my fighting game thirst.

Until the advent of Street Fighter IV, this held its place in my heart as my all-time favourite fighting game. The Super Nintendo version may not even be the definitive home version of Super Street Fighter II to own now that HD Remix exists, but I think it still stands up as a great version of the game to play.


Buy Ultra Street Fighter IV Now On Amazon.com

See More At The In Third Person Store

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sascha / Apr 6 2016 12:52 PM

    Hey there!

    Nice article!

    Do you know if one can save games with this game?

    I played through with Vega, but in the end after I changed games next time my game lost the save game. o.O

    Furthermore, I opened the cartridge and found no battery… So, where does this game save your progress if any?

    Thanks in advance, my retro friend!

    • Jett / Apr 8 2016 7:41 AM

      There is no save feature in the Super Nintendo game.

Leave a Reply

