Skip to content
January 7, 2014 / Jett

Why I Love Wolverine in Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3


Wolverine is my second favourite comic book character of all-time. I’ve always been a fan of his lone wolf mentality, heart-driven decisions, and adamantium claws that he liberally uses to slice foes into confetti. Upon the release of Marvel vs. Capcom 3, I picked him up right away and haven’t looked back. Even if he sucked, I’d probably find a way to make use of him, though he just so happens to be awesome in this series. In a modern world of Zero, Vergil and Dr. Doom players, here’s why I use Logan.

His in-game representation is fairly true to his character

Whenever you’re taking a character from one medium to the next, it’s important to capture the essence of that character, even if you don’t translate it perfectly. While much of Wolverine’s move set in Marvel vs. Capcom 3 is derived his previous MvC iterations, it really comes to life here in a way that I didn’t feel it did before. He bounds across the screen like a dangerous animal that’s just been uncaged. I love how ferocious all of his claw-based attacks work, look and sound. Though he speaks in short bursts at best, I feel like they nailed that too.

He is one of the easiest characters to learn in the game

For a game that’s as combo-heavy as this, it’s refreshing to have access to a character like Logan. He’s got one main bread and butter combo that’s easy to do and does solid damage for the amount of effort you have to put into it. You can hit confirm that combo off of almost everything and branch it off in a number of ways with the right assists behind him. I’ve spent years just trying to learn the ‘basic’ Magneto flight combo, yet I picked up Wolverine’s more advanced stuff in a matter of days. Since then, I’ve simply been optimizing rather than learning how to create the wheel for the first time.

That dive kick

Dive kicks are a great weapon for a character to have in any fighting game. Wolverine has one of the best dive kicks in the game. It has the ability to cross up, can be used to start or extend a combo, can be executed low to the ground and has a great hitbox in front of it to snuff other attacks. I probably use no less than 800 dive kicks per match because of how effective it is as an attack and as a movement option.

Try and stop this Berserker Slash

I’m far from an expert at the older Marvel games, but I’ve found Wolverine’s older versions of the Berserker Slash to be fairly useless. In MvC3, one change made it an essential tool to his offense. Wolverine can adjust how far he lunges forward with the move based on the strength of the button you trigger it with. However, if the distance he lunges goes past where his opponent is standing, he’ll turn around to hit them from behind. This one change means that it can act as a forward hitting move or as a cross-up. Any time you let that move rip, your opponent is forced to guess which way to block. If they guess wrong, you let them have it with a full combo.

This move is actually worse in Ultimate than it was in vanilla, as Capcom removed the move’s projectile invincibility and made the move a bit slower. Still, in its current form, the Berserker Slash is dangerous.

He has the ability to dismantle a team in short order

With the right assists behind him, Wolverine is one of the best point characters in the game. He can immediately rush in and overwhelm his foes to the point where they can lose before they even hit any buttons. His effectiveness as your last character standing is lessened, but you can never count him out. A level 3 X-Factored Wolverine is fast, tricky and dangerous enough to to turn a 3-1 deficit into a 1-0 victory in his favour within the blink of an eye. At that point, all he needs to do is capitalize on 2 or 3 mistakes to crush a foe who once had the upper hand.

I never get tired of systematically tearing my foes apart with Wolverine as they struggle to find ways to stop me. Using character brings out a certain fire and rage beyond what I normally experience while playing a fighting game, which comes out in my on-screen actions. While I may Wolverine look like a madman, there’s absolutely a method to my madness, which I’ll never grow tired of executing on my foes.

Buy Ultimate Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 Now On Amazon.com

See More At The In Third Person Store

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Astro Adam / Jan 7 2014 9:13 PM

    I love Wolverine. The X Men tv show, in the 90s, made him seem so bad ass. I also like that he is a fellow Canadian 🙂

Leave a Reply

