Skip to content
November 25, 2013 / Jett

Top 10 Games of This Generation – Honourable Mention: Mark of the Ninja


(Original Review)

I hate stealth games. I hate the myriad of artificial fail states that oftentimes come with it. I hate the oftentimes fake openness that really boils down to 1 or 2 options you may have at any given point. I hate the trial-and-error nature of the gameplay. I even hate the very conceit of stealth in video games. When i play a video game, I want the power fantasy. In most stealth games, you feel like a weakling who has no other means of getting through a scenario.

I hate stealth games, but I love Mark of the Ninja.

Through a number of ingenious UI elements, the game removes a lot of the ambiguity around when you’re safe and when you’re not. I always felt like I was in control, just like a good ninja would. You could try and become a stealth master and complete missions without getting spotted, though that was never really my style. Instead, I loved dispatching my foes one at a time, which is a play style that the game rewards as well.

If there was ever such thing as an authentic ninja simulator, this is it. It’s also – in my opinion – the best stealth game ever. Coming from someone who still hates the genre, that means a whole lot. Though this is far from a high-profile release, though it’s as high-quality as anything else out there. Even if you’re a hater of the genre like me, I still highly recommend this one because it’s just that good.

Buy Mark of the Ninja [Download] Now on Amazon.com

See More at the In Third Person Store

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Matthew Thompson / Nov 25 2013 3:11 PM

    This is my favorite stealth game ever as well! So many options on how to approach scenarios. The level designs are immaculate. Just an amazing game. Great choice. This game simply doesn’t get enough praise.

Leave a Reply

