Skip to content
November 24, 2013 / Jett

How I Gave Up On Battlefield 4


“Wow!”

I don’t consider myself as someone who is easily swayed by graphics. However, I couldn’t help but feel a bit taken aback by how gorgeous Battlefield 4 looked at first glance. There was a level of fidelity to its visuals that was beyond anything I’d seen before. If you’re looking for a showpiece game to impress your friends, this is as good as it gets right now.

If only the rest of the game reached the same highs as its graphics. Unfortunately, the PlayStation 4 version of the game was a buggy mess.

For some reason, the game continuously failed to save any of my campaign progress. I would play through the first level, quit, and when I started it up again, it would kick me back to the first level with no option to continue where I started. Over the course of 4 days, I played that first level three times before ultimately giving up on it.

There’s also the much talked about multiplayer issues which also impacted me. Battlefield‘s main mode, Conquest, did not work at all. It never let me get into a match. When I played in team deathmatch, the game always crashed when I tried to invite a friend. Then there were times when the game would simply crash on its own, forcing the game to close itself.

I’m sure that EA will eventually patch out these issues, but that doesn’t mean I have to support this right now. As with Fight Night Round 4, I refuse to support games that are so buggy that they impede my enjoyment of a game at this deep of a level. I traded this game in and will be glad to never support this franchise again.


Buy Battlefield 4 Now From Amazon.com

See More From The In Third Person Store

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jsicktheslick / Nov 24 2013 2:47 PM

    Man, that really sucks! I wonder if the multiplayer issues at least are just server problems?

    • Jett / Nov 24 2013 10:04 PM

      EA has said that they need to patch the game to address the multiplayer issues. Hope they sort that out, but I’ve already moved on with a copy of Ghosts.

      • jsicktheslick / Nov 26 2013 3:00 AM

        That’s too bad for EA/Battlefield. Hope it doesn’t stagnate the battle between the two games.

Leave a Reply

