Skip to content
October 18, 2013 / Jett

Mega Man 10 Review


Mega Man 9 was hard. Admittedly, I didn’t put that much time into it, but the bit of time I spent with it made me feel more anger than enjoyment. I felt that way too much of that game came down to trial-and-error alongside surgical precision to the point where it wasn’t fun.

With that bad experience fresh in my mind, I immediately went into Mega Man 10 with the difficulty set to easy. 2 hours later, I was watching the end credits roll without having broken a sweat.

Let’s take a step back for a second. Mega Man 10 is, like the 9 games before it, an 8-bit action platformer where you must take on 8 different robot masters in any order you choose. While it doesn’t break any new ground in terms of structure, I thought that the loose story around the proceedings was neat. In 10, a virus called Roboenza has swept the nation, and it’s up to you to save the day. Is Dr. Wily involved with this? You’ll have to play to find out.

Recognizing the fact that many found 9 to be too difficult, the game does have an easy mode where enemies do less damage and some pits are covered by floating platforms. I did die a number of times, but I never really got into a position where I was at risk of running out of lives. In hindsight, I probably should have just played the game on normal difficulty.

Did I enjoy the 2-hour romp while it lasted? Yes and no. It achieved a baseline level of quality that I’d expect from an entry in the series, though it’s totally forgettable. None of the stages had any truly interesting elements to make them stand out. The bosses were forgettable. Their weapons weren’t that interesting and the music (outside of the first song on Wily stage 1) was bland.

It’s not a bad Mega Man game, but definitely not the series at its finest. Hardcore fans will get some enjoyment out of it, though everyone else should probably pick up the far superior Mega Man 2 or 3 instead.

Buy Xbox LIVE 1600 Microsoft Points [Online Game Code] Now on Amazon.com

See More at the In Third Person Store

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lucyfalls / Oct 18 2013 7:44 PM

    I liked MM10, mainly for nostalgic reasons. I didn’t play on easy mode and found it really difficult though…. in retrospect, I don’t know why I didn’t try easy mode. Some kind of weird gaming pride issue? Maybe I should fire up the Wii and revisit it….

    • Jett / Oct 20 2013 4:09 PM

      Thanks for the comment!

      I generally don’t like playing games on easy, either. However, after the drubbing that Mega Man 9 gave me, I figured I’d play it safe to save myself the frustration.

Leave a Reply

