Skip to content
July 27, 2013 / Jett

The Thing That Drives Me Nuts About Lugi’s Mansion: Dark Moon


Ever since I got it as a birthday present a few months back, Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon has been a part of my morning routine. Though the game isn’t terribly long, it’s taken me forever to work through it. The frustrating part of it all is that it really doesn’t have to be this way.

What’s so frustrating about it? Well, this is a game that’s heavily dependent on solving spatial puzzles. As a gamer, this is a skill that I’ve never been good at. Even God of War games, which mostly use basic puzzles as breaks in the action, oftentimes stifle me. I can’t play those games without having a guide handy, because I’m bound to get stuck and give up if I can’t solve things right away.

The fact that I’m getting stuck in Luigi’s Mansion isn’t solely the game’s fault. I suck at this type of gameplay and getting stuck for me is inevitable. However, the game shouldn’t just leave me hanging when I do get stuck, especially when there are examples of helpful hint systems to get through frustrating moments like this.

For instance, in between action sequences, there’s a heavy emphasis on puzzle solving in the Uncharted games. I oftentimes get stuck, but the game has a smart hint system that guides me in the right direction when it senses that I’ve been stuck in the same place for too long. Having this built into Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon would have saved me a ton of time and trouble.

I find it odd that Nintendo would skimp out on including something like this when they’ve done it on a number of their titles of late. For instance, in some of the newer Super Mario games, it’ll give you power-ups or let the AI beat the level for you if it senses that you’ve died too many times in a row.

Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon is a ton of fun when I don’t get stuck, but I seem to get stuck all the time. My only real course of action at this point is to have the strategy guide constantly loaded on my phone for reference while I’m on the subway. However, it really shouldn’t have to be this way.

Full review coming soon!


Buy Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon Now On Amazon.com

See More At The In Third Person Store

Leave a Reply

