Skip to content
September 21, 2012 / Jett

I Pre-Ordered a Wii U


Wii UAfter months of waiting for release info, Nintendo finally revealed most of it at their September press event. With the launch date and pricing info out there, and pre-orders running out fast at GameStop, I decided to throw my name in the pre-order hat for a deluxe set.

As a self-confessed Nintendo fanboy, not having the latest Nintendo hardware as soon as possible would eat me up inside. I know this is not rational logic, but not much gets in between me and my love for Nintendo. I’m certain that, over the course of the system’s lifespan, I’ll get to play the latest versions of my favourite Nintendo franchises.

Am I curious as to whether game creators will ever tap into the full potential of that tablet controller? Definitely. Do I have concerns about this system being underpowered when its ultimately competing against the next XBOX and PlayStation? Absolutely. Are either of these factors enough to deter me from picking this up? Probably not. Having played the thing at Fan Expo this year, I have a good idea of what I’m getting myself into.

At least not yet. I still have a few months to think about it. If I want to cancel, it’s not too late. With that said, I’m excited to get my hands on mine in November!

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. JJ M. (@jjmahoney3) / Sep 21 2012 9:11 AM

    I was kind of late getting a pre-order in, but I found Wal-Mart doing bundles on their website last weekend. It says it will ship “between 9/19 and 11/29”. But that’s because you had to choose a Wii Motion Plus remote with your bundle, which came this week and I don’t really need, in addition to which Wii U you wanted (I selected the Deluxe Edition too) and a Wii U game (I picked New Super Mario Bros. Wii U).

    I’m more excited now than I was before pre-ordering. But probably more for the potential of the system than what will be available at launch.

    • Jett / Sep 21 2012 10:39 AM

      Hey it’s JJ of Splitkick fame! Glad you came over to my slice of the internet 🙂

      I got mine through Best Buy and also pre-ordered New Super Mario Bros. as well. Unfortunately, both my girlfriend and I ‘lost’ most of our Wii stuff to our siblings when we moved in together, so we’ll have to start from scratch as far as Wii remotes go.

      I think that when buying any system at launch, its potential future is usually the biggest reason to buy, as launch lineups are generally weak. For me, knowing that at least all of my favourite Nintendo franchises are a sure thing is good enough for me, and everything else is gravy.

      Are there any games in Nintendo’s massive launch window that pique your interest?

      • JJ M. (@jjmahoney3) / Sep 24 2012 9:07 AM

        There really isn’t much that piqued my interest. ZombiU looks like a great idea, but I don’t really like zombies/horror stuff. I’m sure that won’t be the only game like that we see though. But I only selected Super Mario Bros Wii U for my bundle because I think I could do with a new Mario game. I haven’t really played one since Mario Galaxy, and that was years after it came out. I’m just not as huge a fan of Nintendo properties as I used to be. They feel pretty stale. And I really didn’t like most of the motion control stuff they did with the Wii.

        But I’m hopeful that with the Wii U they can be fresh again. And even though Skyward Sword and Other M had great moments, they left me a little disappointed (I traded them both in right after finishing them). It’s just complicated with me and Nintendo. But I’ve been playing games for nearly 30 years, and (other than the Atari 2600), the NES was my first main console, and the SNES made me a fan for life. That was such a great system. So, I guess I keep holding out hoping that I’ll feel that again. But I think it’s a different time (plus I’m 37, not 11). I probably won’t be getting major, multi-platform releases on a Nintendo system. The PS3 is my main system right now. But I’m excited to see what Nintendo does with their properties, and what other developers come up with.

      • Jett / Sep 24 2012 10:00 AM

        I have heard ZombiU is great. I saw it at this year’s Fan Expo, but didn’t get a chance to play it because the lines were too long. Based on what I did see, it was the most impressive Wii U game at the show by a wide margin. With that said, I’m not much of a zombies/horror guy either. It looks too much like Left 4 Dead, which I love, but am very much burnt out on.

        I can totally relate with your relationship with Nintendo. I was a die-hard Nintendo loyalist from the moment I laid hands on an NES controller as an infant, right up until this generation of consoles, when they simply could not provide all of the experiences I wanted to play. At this point, the XBOX 360 and PlayStation 3 are my main systems. Like you, I can’t really imagine picking up any multi-platform stuff on a Nintendo home console at this point. However, I’ll always pick up a Nintendo system as long as they can keep supplying me with quality first-party content. I’m still waiting for my launch-day 3DS investment to pan out in my favour 😛

  2. jsicktheslick / Sep 22 2012 6:47 PM

    I would really love to have one if these when they come out in a few months, but I think I’ll pass. Not that I am not interested in the Wii U, far from it actually, but I think I can hold back until I see the killer app that will make me need to have the system.
    Either way, I’ll be totally jealous when you are enjoying it while I’m in the cold. :p

  3. JJ M. (@jjmahoney3) / Sep 24 2012 10:09 AM

    Yeah, I want a 3DS XL, but there’s just nothing that has convinced me that I have to own it. I had a DS, then a DS Lite, but traded both in. They weren’t getting played. I have a Vita, and bought it within weeks of it’s release. It got played A LOT the first few weeks with Uncharted, but I hardly touch it now. Although LBP might get me back on it tomorrow.

    • Jett / Sep 24 2012 10:40 AM

      Dedicated portable gaming consoles are a really hard sell for me at this point. Sure, I won’t get to play fantastic games like Super Mario 3D Land, or Kid Icarus: Uprising on my iPhone, but it is not convenient for me at all to carry around an extra device in my pocket, especially when my phone has dozens of games on it that are great to play on the go.

      Let me know how LBP is on the Vita!

      • JJ M. (@jjmahoney3) / Sep 24 2012 10:44 AM

        I sure will. I’ve found my gaming tastes change like the wind, so I may not even want to play an LBP game right now. But I love the series so I’m sure it’ll get a few hours out of me. I didn’t anticipate switching from Guild Wars 2 (which is simply amazing, even on my aging desktop PC) to Torchlight 2 having just played through Diablo 3 this summer. But I can’t stop playing it. Maybe it’s the pending baby #2 (he should be arriving any day now!), I have no idea. I just throw my money at a game I think I’ll like and hope it sticks. 🙂

      • JJ M. (@jjmahoney3) / Sep 24 2012 10:47 AM

        Btw, I really hope they make it easy to transfer all my Wii Virtual Console purchases over. Supposedly they are, but I haven’t seen it outlined how they’re going to do that. I don’t want to have to buy Super Metroid, Castlevania IV, and the like, yet again. But I will if I have to. I just don’t prefer to.

      • Jett / Sep 25 2012 11:51 PM

        That’s a valid concern. I hope for everyone’s sake that the process is in fact easy.

        What I’m most curious about regarding the transfer of digital content into the new console generation is Rock Band content. Some songs have ‘disappeared’ from the rotation due to rights management. I wouldn’t be surprised if none of those songs transfer at all because of that.

Leave a Reply

