Skip to content
December 12, 2010 / Jett

Girlfriend Gaming: What She Wants for Christmas


Last week, my girlfriend and I exchanged Christmas wish lists. Unlike mine, which was comprised almost exclusively of video games, only one appeared on her list. Not to say that there’s only one game she wants, but our priorities are very much different. Santa will do his best to get her what she’s asking for.

She gave me the blessing to share with you some of the games she’s eying this holiday season. Besides the one on her formal list, we’ve gone shopping recently and she’s pointed out a few titles she’d like to get a hold of. Is your girlfriend/boyfriend interested in any of these?

Lego Harry Potter: Years 1-4

My girlfriend is a huge fan of Lego Batman. She really enjoyed the Lego twist on one of her favourite franchises. She’s also a huge Harry Potter fan. Her choosing this as the one game she really wants for Christmas is not a surprise to me. I’ve heard this one is the best of the Lego games, which should mean she’s in for a treat if she finds this under her tree this year. I know this only covers years 1-4, but I do not look forward to how the love scene in year 7 will be handled in the next game.


Assassin’s Creed

My girlfriend has been interested in playing this game for quite some time, yet I keep saying bad about it. I frequently say how it’s repetitive, how I’ve heard mixed things about Assassin’s Creed and how amazing Assassin’s Creed II is in comparison. In hindsight, I’ve been a total jerk. I’m basing my opinion of the game solely on things I’ve heard others say (even though it reviewed pretty well). I haven’t played the game for myself, so I can’t truly judge. In the process of being a jerk about it, I’ve actively stopped her from playing this and other games she’s wanted to try out. Having seen the error in my ways, I will do my best to keep my opinions in check and not have a negative effect my girlfriend’s gaming decisions. For all I know, maybe she’ll love it, and I’ll give it a shot based on her recommendation and love it, just like what happened with Plants vs. Zombies.

Mini Ninjas

Almost every time we go to a store that sells video games, she goes out of her way to check for Mini Ninjas. For a while, she was looking to find it for a price she was comfortable paying. However, finding the game at all in any store nowadays isn’t that easy anymore. It won’t be impossible to get, but Santa and his elves may need to work overtime on this one.


Kirby’s Epic Yarn

Though she was skeptical about it a few weeks ago, getting to play it for herself has definitely warmed her up to the title. She had fun when I watched her play the in-store demo and I think that Prince Fluff put the game over the top for her. Maybe her and I will get a chance to play that in co-op mode this Christmas. It would be an interesting change from our last co-op experience.

Has your significant other added any games to their wish lists? If so, would you care to share?

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Josh / Dec 17 2010 10:51 AM

    You have quite the woman Jett, I bet she’s new to gaming concerning what’s on her list. But I guess I’m not one to talk because I’m still trying to get a hold of a few PS2 games from the old school days. Why not show her around to some DEMOs on XBLA and PSN, Show her the God of War 3 DEMO and watch her jaw his the ground lol.

    • Jett / Dec 18 2010 2:39 AM

      Your bet sir, would be incorrect. My girlfriend is not new to gaming. She has been gaming for most of her life. She’s also the reason I even gave God of War a chance, because she was interested in it way before I ever had any visions of buying a PS3.

      • Josh / Dec 20 2010 10:01 AM

        I saw and to be honest I never even knew this site existed before I saw that article I just assumed seeing as how people don’t play a lot of God of War because of the lack of multi-player and such.

  2. Josh / Dec 17 2010 10:57 AM

    sorry typo “watch her jaw HIT the gorund”

  3. Josh / Dec 17 2010 10:58 AM

    ground, lol

  4. Josh / Dec 20 2010 9:53 AM

    Sorry Jett I didn’t mean to offend just having a laugh, I know nothing about your girlfriend so I was just assuming.

Leave a Reply

