Skip to content
September 8, 2010 / Jett

Using ‘Cost Per Hour’ to Determine the Value of a Game


cost-per-hour

Over the past few years of following podcasts, message boards and reviews, there seems to be this weird metric that creeps into discussions in one way or another. For the purposes of this post, I will refer to it as ‘cost per hour’. It’s a metric that people directly or indirectly use to judge a game’s value based on how much it costs and how long the experience is. I will express it with the following formula:

Value = Cost of Game/Number of Hours Played

In a perfect world, where money directly translates into valuable experiences, these types of metrics could work as a means of judging a game’s value. However, this logic is flawed, because neither cost or value variables are consistent. You can’t make a blanket statement saying that Limbo is too expensive at $15 dollars because it’s only a 3-hour experience, because it might go on sale, someone may take longer/shorter to beat it, and subjective opinion may say that their time with it was totally worth that price.

The price you pay for that experience and the length of that experience are viable factors in determining a game’s value, but not the whole picture. However, what if we did take away all of the other factors? Is it possible to come up with a consensus cost per hour rate to determine whether or not a game is worth it? I take a few examples from my collection and crunch the numbers to find out.


Street Fighter IV

Up until I got a subscription to XBOX Live and watched my first streamed Street Fighter tournament, I didn’t play much Street Fighter IV. The arcade mode is short, the AI isn’t that good and I didn’t have anyone locally to play. However, when I finally got online play and I watched Devastation 2009, my play-time jumped dramatically.

Cost of Game: $59.99
Hours Played: 250 hours
Value: $0.23/hour

Was it worth it? At $0.23 an hour, absolutely. At the arcade, I would spend $1 for one match, which would likely last two minutes and end with me losing. This rate makes my purchase of Street Fighter IV look like a steal.

What’s missing? This formula doesn’t have any way of comparing the value of an online multiplayer game with a single player game. In terms of raw hours, the multiplayer game is almost always going to have more hours put into it because there’s a reason to consistently come back. Can I put a dollar amount on my satisfaction with this than say, my satisfaction with Mass Effect 2? This also doesn’t account for the hours spent getting my butt kicked and the hours I spent training, which aren’t necessarily ‘fun’. On top of that, with a rate so low, I could have paid $250 for this game, played just as much, and at $1.00/hour, it still sounds like a good deal. I love this game, but I would never buy it at that price, even if the cost per hour rate was so good.

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Batman wasn’t even a game I was planning on buying in the first place. However, the incredible buzz and a launch day sale, I decided to give it a shot.

Cost of Game: $39.99
Hours Played: 8 hours
Value: $5.00/hour

Was it worth it? $5.00 per hour sounds like a lot, at least in relation to Street Fighter IV. However, they’re very different experiences, since Batman is a single player game mainly created to be played through once. For the great time I had with it, I’m cool with that rate.

What’s it missing? I got this on sale. At regular price, that cost per hour goes up to a point where I may be reluctant to pay that much for that game. However, that rate doesn’t change the fact that Batman: Arkham Asylum is an awesome game.

Burnout Paradise

During my crazy Blockbuster clearance raids, I was able to snag this game for dirt cheap.

Cost of Game: $4.99
Hours Played: 10 hours
Value: $0.50/hour

Was it worth it? Yes. Burnout Paradise was fun while I was into it, and from a cost per hour perspective, $0.50 per hour looks really good.

What’s it missing? While the rate is great, I wouldn’t value this experience anywhere near the level of Street Fighter IV. Burnout was cool, but I grew tired of the game half way through and had no interest in playing it online. Because I ‘burned out’ on the game before I finished it, that decreases the overall value of the experience to me.


Fight Night Round 4

I was a big fan of the previous Fight Night game, and at first, I thought this game was great.

Cost of Game: $59.99
Hours Played: 20 hours
Value: $2.94/hour

Was it worth it? I had a lot of fun while I was playing it, and that dollar value sits in between Street Fighter IV and Batman: Arkham Asylum, both of which I did like.

What’s it missing? After 20 hours of playing the career mode, a game-breaking glitch made beating the game impossible. Essentially, my entire career was a waste. While I had fun during those 20 hours, the fact that the game made those 20 hours meaningless by shorting me of the payoff. I traded that game in the moment I realized there would be no potential fix for another few months and I wish I could have my 20 hours back. No, this wasn’t worth it.

Did this exercise establish any trends? No, not really. There’s no consistent rate that indicates what a good value proposition to me is. As I said at the beginning, cost and hours are both valuable ways of judging a game, but as a cost per hour metric, there are too many holes to rely on it. Ultimately, what’s worth it is all dependent on how you feel about it.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ben M / Jul 2 2012 9:39 PM

    I’ve been reading through your archive and have enjoying it quite a bit. I initially found your blog when I did a google search in hopes of finding an explanation of some of the more advanced strategies used in high level fighting game competition. I heard a podcast with the 2 guys behind skull girls, and despite not understanding 75% of what they were talking about I was still intrigued. I quickly ran into problems in that while there are a plethora of resources about the many nuances of each fighter the majority of them assumed the reader had a reasonable base of knowledge about the genre, and boy did I not. I must admit I am not really much of a fan of the genre, while I enjoy the occasional casual match up w/ friends in the same room I have not invested much time in any one since Mortal Combat 1 & 2 for the Genesis (yeah blood code). I should be clear when I say I’m not a fan I recognize that there are lots of great games in the genre and lots of really talented people who play I guess I’m just not willing to invest the amount of time it would require to become anything beyond a button masher. Luckily I found your universal fighting game quite and that along with a great series of utube videos by a guy named tbirdsf4, and by reading your articles and then checking out the videos for the parts I just couldn’t quite picture I finally understand a good number of the advanced strategies, at least the theory behind them, I’m pretty sure that every single one of them is way beyond me (see above statement about being to lazy). Besides me to understand something a concept that is pretty complicated I also found that I liked your writing, it is immediately clear that you are writing about topics in which you are invested and that have significant meaning to you and it’s always a pleasure to read about almost anything when the authors joys come through so clearly. I decided I wanted to start from the beginning and so I started with July ’09 and have been simply hitting the next button, and am still enjoying myself so thanks for the great reading material and keep up the great work.

    -Ben

    • Jett / Jul 2 2012 11:59 PM

      Wow! Thank you for the high praise and support. I really hope you continue to enjoy my work. With close to 700 posts here, you’ve got a lot of reading cut out for you 😉 If there are any topics you’d like me to cover in the Universal Fighting Game Guide, let me know!

      Not sure if you know this, but I also write for Splitkick, a video game site with a focus on editorial/opinion pieces. There’s a lot of great posts and podcasts from the team that you might also like.

      http://splitkick.com/

      Thank you for your support! There will be more from me in the future!

Trackbacks

  1. Let’s talk about evaluating the value of a video game for a few minutes. | Frumpis Does Games

Leave a Reply

