Skip to content
February 27, 2011 / Jett

Marvel vs. Capcom 3 and Learning How to Not Suck


Being good at fighting games is hard. Due to my recent success at Super Street Fighter IV, I’ve sort of taken that fact for granted. However, I got better at Street Fighter through hundreds of hours of practice, tournament experience and absorbing anything and everything I could online in regards to making myself a better player. Before I went through all of that, I spent dozens of hours playing the game online; losing almost every single one of those matches.

Though I was able to coast through the bottom tier of ranked Marvel vs. Capcom 3 matches, my winning percentage has taken a serious dip. I know enough about the game to recognize that I’m losing to people who suck at the game, but I don’t have the skills and know-how myself to beat them. Am I willing to put in the time and effort to not suck?

Unlike my early foray into Street Fighter IV, I’ve developed a much stronger understanding of fighting games as a whole. I know enough about the basic over-arcing concepts of fighting games such as timing, spacing, combo systems and Yomi that I can apply them across any fighting game I play. A recent example of these over-arching skills helping me out happened a month or so ago, when I was able to win a few Tekken 6 matches against my work’s resident Tekken fan. I’m terrible at Tekken, but I was able to win a few matches because I was able to analyze what he was doing to me and counter it with the little knowledge I had.

That basic knowledge, skills and some experience with Tatsunoko vs. Capcom have taken me past the ground floor in Marvel vs. Capcom 3, but I recognize that there is so much more for me to learn. I’m still trying to clean up my execution to a point where I can do what I want, when I want. Beyond that, I still need to come up with a team that works for me, learn how to make best use of things like hyper meters and X-Factor, and get a lot of practice under my belt so that I can better analyze and overcome various situations.

With the Street Fighter IV experience under my belt, I know what I need to do to get better. That trajectory of improvement involves a lot of practice (training and actual matches) as well as absorbing any sort of learning resources I can get a hold of. I know there are a ton of great free guides online and I’ve even considered grabbing the official Marvel vs. Capcom 3 guide, which I’ve heard was excellent.

With Super Street Fighter IV, I recognize that I’ll never be the best, but I’m happy with where my skills are at in that game. It’s unfair for me to expect myself to be good at a one-week-old game, but the fact that I’m not where I’d like to be in a game I really like irks me enough to write this post. Will I actively put in the work to get better or just let whatever is meant to happen, happen?


Buy the Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 Guide Now From Amazon.com

See More on the In Third Person Store

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Guarionex / Feb 27 2011 1:32 PM

    I love fighting games, but I suck badly at them. But to be fair, I don’t exactly train to improve my style or anything. RPGS take most of my gaming time, but I hope to dedicate more time to MvC3 when I finish my current one.
    I’ve heard the guide is indeed great

    • Jett / Feb 28 2011 7:36 PM

      Thank you for the comment Guarionex!

      I’ve heard that sentiment a lot about those who love fighting games and suck at them. Nothing to be ashamed of. They’re in general, really hard to learn compared to any other genre of game, and most of these games don’t actually teach you how to play them. Unless you’re willing to buy a guide, search the Internet for information or have a network of players to train with, you can very easily get stomped repeatedly by online competition and have no idea what went wrong or how to get better.

      Even with fighting game experience, it doesn’t necessarily transfer over. Being good at Super Street Fighter IV definitely didn’t make me a better BlazBlue player, as I’m terrible at that game.

      What RPG are you currently playing if I may ask?

      • Guarionex / Mar 2 2011 3:27 PM

        I’m playing everybody’s least favorite RPG (except mine XD): Final Fantasy XIII

      • Jett / Mar 2 2011 6:33 PM

        Who cares what others think about the games you play? If you’re having fun, then that’s all that matters.

  2. Guarionex / Mar 3 2011 6:17 AM

    Heh. if I cared, I wouldn’t be playing. :]

  3. Eddie Hyland / Feb 3 2012 11:31 AM

    Nice article. I also I am playing Marvel Vs Capcom 3. I used to play Street Fighter 2 quite a lot as a kid, and then Tekken (1,2 & 3) when I was a bit older but hadn’t really played much in the way of fighting games since.

    When I first started playing MvC3 online I would get served every game. The opposition were ruthless!

    I decided to stick with it and I am now starting to win matches quite regularly.

    I really like your reference to Yomi. Hopefully focusing on that mindset at the start of a match will help me win more often.

    • Jett / Feb 3 2012 5:41 PM

      Thanks for the comment and congratulations on your progress! Overcoming the hump to win more than you lose in online play is really tough in any game, so I respect your accomplishment.

      If you’re interested in the particulars of fighting games like Yomi, check out my Universal Fighting Game Guide, which has a ton of posts with information that could help you across any fighting game http://thirdpersonblog.wordpress.com/category/universal-fighting-game-guide/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

